Tortellini Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Delicious and hearty soup! Love the red pepper flavor! Leftovers held up well, too. Served with bread for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
This was very good! I subbed half green bell pepper (chopped) for the jalapenos and since I didn't have veggie broth, I used chicken broth. Mildly spiced but great for this heat-sensative family! It did need some extra S&P but I'd make this again! Good recipe Silverwolf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
This soup tastes great but is a recipe that a beginner may find complicated. In the end, it is worth it---our party licked their bowls clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Delicious! I only had yellow bell pepper, so I used that. After the potatoes cooked in the broth, I added the tortellini right in there to cook, instead of dirting another pot (yes, I'm lazy, lol). When they were just about done, I added in the corn and 1/2 & 1/2. I thickened w/ Wondra flour instead of the flour/oil mixture. I didn't find this bland at all, we thought it was very flavorful. This was a wonderful, different soup that I will be making over and over~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Fantastic! I made two small changes to the recipe: first I used yellow bell pepper (it's all I had on hand). Second, I used milk rather than half-and-half (didn't have time to run to the store for more half-and half, I didn't have enough). Other than that I kept to the recipe and absolutely loved it. It's mildly spicy but still very comforting. I enjoyed the mix of potatoes and tortellini, but I can see where others may not have liked it as much. I'll be making this again for sure, but maybe I'll mix the flour with water or some milk (as someone else noted the oil does come up to the top of the pot). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jackplug
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
tonight, as i was clearing off the table and getting it ready for dinner, i turned around, and the fella was eating the soup out of the pot on the stove with the ladle. we love this recipe. we usually follow it exactly, but tonight, i didn't feel like dealing with the jalapeno or chile peppers so i just added a little jalapeno tobasco. it still tasted amazing. i'll probably skip those two ingredients from now on. either way, i have no idea why this isn't a more popular recipe. this chowder is amazing. oh, and i'd rather die than eat cilantro, so that was out, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Excellent! Just had this for lunch and loved it. I agree that tortellini and potatoes are an odd combination so left out the potatoes (and the red pepper flakes). It was still quite spicey but delicious. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I added some stewing beef and two tomatoes to this. It turned out great. I thought the pasta and the potatoes were a bit much though. Next time, I'll do one or the other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Very good. I had all ingredients on hand except tortellini. So, I made it with out. I followed all amounts and directions as indicated in the recipe. I will make this again but use frozen corn instead. Canned corn is chewier, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by family of five

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Tasted very good, but too spicy for the kids. The mix of tortellini and potatoes was indeed a little weird. Next time I will try doubling or tripling the potatoes and omitting the tortellini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States