Tortellini Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
This soup tastes great but is a recipe that a beginner may find complicated. In the end, it is worth it---our party licked their bowls clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
This was wonderful soup! My husband and I loved it. I will definitely make it again. I substituted canned green chilis for fresh and they went perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
This was very good! I subbed half green bell pepper (chopped) for the jalapenos and since I didn't have veggie broth, I used chicken broth. Mildly spiced but great for this heat-sensative family! It did need some extra S&P but I'd make this again! Good recipe Silverwolf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
Yummy! Can get pretty spicy, so taste as you go along. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Made it tonight and we really enjoyed it. Was pretty simple and quick, I sliced my finger half way through and my husband was able to pull off the rest... which means it can't be too difficult either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Versailles, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
It was a nice change from the normal tortellini soups that I make with sausage, spinach, tomotoes or all added in. Like another reviewer I used chicken broth since that was all I had and I only had chicken and Prosciutto tortelli so I eliminated the cumin since that might have been too much. It was delicious - I would have preferred it a little thicker and will do that the next time using flour and water rather then the flour and vegetable oil. That left a heavy, greasy film on the top of the soup. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I made this soup for lunch today, it was fantastic! Also would be filling enough for supper with a sandwich. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Croix Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Absolutely Delicious!! The recipe is perfect just as is! I did not change a thing, and my husband and I loved it. We even ate the left-overs the next day. The chowder had thickened, but was still great! The chowder does have quite a kick, so if you are sensitive to spiciness, you may want to leave out some of the spicy ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
I thought this was very..different. I didn't think that it blended together very well. The idea was great, however there was something that just didn't mesh. I did like the use of tortellini in a cream soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Perhaps my peppers weren't spicy enough but the main taste my chowder had was of Cumin. It took a long time to chop all those veggies - not worth the time I put into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States