Tortellini Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Awesome!! The smells were wonderful as it was cooking and you never know if it will taste as good...but it was fantastic. And just got better with time as it seasoned. I always believe cumin is the key so added a tiny bit extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This soup was very good. Has great flavor. I do not like spicy hot so it was a bit spicy for me but my husband thought it was great. I will defiantly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meagan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
The flavor was aright, but the tortellini just felt like over kill and a bit of an odd combination. It would have stood well on it's own without it. Too spicy for the kids, but a perfect bite of spice for adults. I think as a chowder it was decent, but I would leave out the tortellini next time. Over all it just seemed like too much work for the end result. Probably won't bother making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Love this... As is. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I am absolutely love this recipe. We tried it the way it called for the first time but the second time we switched it up a bit and just turned it into a potato chowder. We added bacon(almost every soup we eat has bacon in it) and extra potatoes but left out the tortellini noodles. still amazing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jackplug
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
tonight, as i was clearing off the table and getting it ready for dinner, i turned around, and the fella was eating the soup out of the pot on the stove with the ladle. we love this recipe. we usually follow it exactly, but tonight, i didn't feel like dealing with the jalapeno or chile peppers so i just added a little jalapeno tobasco. it still tasted amazing. i'll probably skip those two ingredients from now on. either way, i have no idea why this isn't a more popular recipe. this chowder is amazing. oh, and i'd rather die than eat cilantro, so that was out, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Excellent! Just had this for lunch and loved it. I agree that tortellini and potatoes are an odd combination so left out the potatoes (and the red pepper flakes). It was still quite spicey but delicious. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Delicious and hearty soup! Love the red pepper flavor! Leftovers held up well, too. Served with bread for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Fantastic! I made two small changes to the recipe: first I used yellow bell pepper (it's all I had on hand). Second, I used milk rather than half-and-half (didn't have time to run to the store for more half-and half, I didn't have enough). Other than that I kept to the recipe and absolutely loved it. It's mildly spicy but still very comforting. I enjoyed the mix of potatoes and tortellini, but I can see where others may not have liked it as much. I'll be making this again for sure, but maybe I'll mix the flour with water or some milk (as someone else noted the oil does come up to the top of the pot). Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This was really good. Very nice spice to it but not overpowering. I didn't have half and half but I did have skim milk and heavy cream so I did one cup skim and about 3/4 cup heavy cream. Came out nice. Also, I used artichoke stuffed tortellini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States