Tortellini Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This was surprisingly good. The family liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Really liked this recipe. I used chicken broth though for more flavor and butter instead of margarine. Liked the crunch of the corn. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
My husband really liked this.. scored it 8 out of 10. I thought it was excellent. My son, who is very picky, did not like it, but that was OK by us, it meant we had more! The only minor changes I made were, 1) only used 1/2 a jalapeno, since I have a wimpy palette, (Hubby would have loved the extra heat) 2) used a can of green chilies since that's all I had on hand and 3) used milk with the flour, not oil. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Good, but not one I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I tend to like my tortellini Italian spiced only! I used fresh oregano and German thyme I did enjoy finding an easy way to make it like a chowder. Normally I don't use potatoes. Its very hardy, great to warm up with on a blistery cool day. I didn't use the Mexican spices listed but I make lots of soups and I didn't need a Mexican style dish. I think the spices are spot on if you need one. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BamaPhotoGurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Very good and hearty on a cold evening. Some reviewers have been put off by the tortellini/potato combination. I agree, it's unusual, but it was interesting. I mixed the flour with chicken stock to cut out a bit of the fat and used olive oil in place of the margarine to sauté the veggies. I also used canned green chilis and chipotle chili powder (because that's what I had in the pantry)--very flavorful. I "pinned" this recipe so that I will have it on hand to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
great as is except i added a can of cream corn , other wise fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by richard roper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ayer, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I omitted the jalapeno (because I didn't have one on hand) and yet I found the chowder to be very spicy! Next time I think I'll use only a pinch of ground red pepper .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I was looking for a hearty soup that was a bit different and not a tomato based soup. This fit the bill. I didn't have jalapeno peppers so I added a few extra pieces of red and yellow peppers. I would put in 1/2 to 1 tsp of cayenne or chili powder next time to add some heat but it tasted good as is. I'll make this again when I am looking for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Delicious! I only had yellow bell pepper, so I used that. After the potatoes cooked in the broth, I added the tortellini right in there to cook, instead of dirting another pot (yes, I'm lazy, lol). When they were just about done, I added in the corn and 1/2 & 1/2. I thickened w/ Wondra flour instead of the flour/oil mixture. I didn't find this bland at all, we thought it was very flavorful. This was a wonderful, different soup that I will be making over and over~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States