Tortellini Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I had to make a lot of substitutions with things I had on hand, and also to keep it from being too spicy, and lower in calories. My family doesn't care for spicy, so I used only the red bell pepper and onion, (one large of each, rather than measuring), which I sauteed in olive oil rather than margarine. We left out the potatoes since I'm making potato soup in a few days. I'm not crazy about cumin, so I only added ½ a teaspoon, and ¼ teaspoon of chili powder in place of the ground red pepper. Rather than oil and flour I mixed cornstarch and milk, and used nonfat milk instead of the half-and-half. I also tossed in two small chopped zucchinis that I needed to use up, with the (frozen, rather than canned) corn. I know it sounds like a lot of substitutions, and people hate when a recipe is rated with so many changes! :( Some were to keep it lower in fat, others were to keep it from being too spicy for my heat-sensitive family. I appreciate the base recipe, we really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Tasted better as flavors settled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
There are many delicious soups to be found here, but this is the best recipe so far! My husband raved about it so much I'll be making it for him again soon. I "pre-made" the soup the night before, stopping before adding the tortellini, corn and half/half. The next day I reheated the soup and completed the steps. It really is a wonderful combination of flavors and very satisfying. Next time I will try using sweet potatoes as a nod to my husbands weight lifting diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
We loved everything about this chowder - from the fresh veggies to the tortellini to the creamy broth! I just eye-balled the veggies but measured the other ingredients. This was great the night I served it and even better the next day as the broth got a little thicker. A fantastic chowder that will be made again in our house. Thanks SILVERWOLF for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
This was a one timer for us. Okay, but was too hot for one person and I was really surprised at the lack of flavor based on the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
awesome. big change from ordinary soup.only change was to use 5% cream to cut a little fat.freezes well. a regular for us now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orleans, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
The base of this is awesome, but for us, it needed some meat and something a big more, so I added some browned spicy Italian sausage and some Italian seasoning. I made it for a simple lunch of soup and homemade bread/butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
This was surprisingly good. The family liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Really liked this recipe. I used chicken broth though for more flavor and butter instead of margarine. Liked the crunch of the corn. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States