Tortellini Carbonara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I'm curious...why does a recipe get a horrible review and things like "I want to light it on fire" when most likely it was human error that may have caused the problem? I see a lot of good recipes and try them out and have usually good results based on the experiences of others. There seems to be a lot of super rated recipes that have one or two bad reviews and it always is to the extreme. I appreciate honest reviews, but perhaps if one person's attempt fails, make an accurate account of what may have happened rather than blame the recipe or make comments on how you went about disposing of the evidence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BinkyKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2000
This is a great recipe except I added fresh minced garlic. I highly recomend trying this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
Awesome recipe. The kids loved it and it is soooo easy to make. I scored major points with the wife. Absolutely Fan-TAS-tic. However, you may need to add a water flour mix to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
This dish was not to my taste. Four cups of half & half seemed like a lot, maybe I didn't let it thicken for long enough. We were left with ham-flavored half & half soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Fantastic! I have used this recipe several times now w/ great results. I did try it w/ fat free half & half & it ended up separating -- I would recommend sticking w/ the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara N.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
I added garlic, like someone else suggested, and doubled the ham so that it didn't need salt. The extra ham (honey cured) gave it a nice smoky flavor. I also used farfalle since I'm not crazy about tortellini. I sprinkled some extra shaved parmesan on top and it was wonderful. I made this for my sister's birthday and she was surprised at how easy it was, considering it was so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
We did like this recipe, very easy. I did change this up a bit based on other comments. I used 1/2 of the half and half due to others commenting on this runny. I added in more as it thickened up. I also used pancetta instead of ham due to our preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
MMMMMM....so delicious! I used bacon instead of the ham and fat free half and half to cut down on some of the fat. No one knew the difference. Fellow cooks, come join our message board at phpBBnow.com and look under What's cooking. KrisAnn, this was great and we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
very very nice. my husband isnt a big fan of cream-sauce pasta's, but when i served this his eyes went wide like a little child and he asked if there was any left. only differance, i added a good handful of sliced mushrooms and a clove of minced garlic. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
whole family loved this one, even our picky eaters. thickened just fine, took longer do so than you might expect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

This creamy pasta salad is the perfect side for picnics, potlucks, and BBQs.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States