Tortellini Carbonara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
After reading other reviews, I used 1 pound tortellini, extra parmesan cheese and 3 1/2 cups half and half...it still made waaaaay too much sauce, and it wasn't thick at all. I had to thicken with corn starch and let it set for a good twenty minutes before eating it, but even then, there was just way too much sauce for the pasta ratio, even with me using extra pasta. The taste was good though so I'm giving it 3 stars. If I make this again I'll definitely be reducing amount of liquid used!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hillio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Missouri, USA
Living In: Cape Girardeau, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This is a very good meal, but very rich. I made this as directed and added some chopped red, yellow and orange peppers that I needed to use up. I sautéed them right along with the onion and ham. I served this with a simple green salad and fresh fruit. I would make this again; adding the peppers again and maybe adding some fresh ground black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Very easy to make and it come out fantastically. It's a very filling dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennysslife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I don't review often because most people hit the nail on the head with these receipes. I just felt this one had been given bad reviews that it didn't deserve. For a busy mother of two on a tight schedule, this receipe is WONDERFUL!!! You do need to be careful on your ingredient choices though. 1) Half-and Half takes FOREVER to thicken. I use heavy cream and cut the amount in 1/2. 2) Fake shaker style parm will separate. It's a bit more expensive, but look for the real grated or shaved parmesan... your results will be much much better. 3) Temperature is everything with this dish. If you have the temp too high when making your sauce it will separate or not thicken properly.. Be patient!! Otherwise a wonderful dish that the family loves! (I also added a bit of garlic to the onion ham mixture for taste.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Really good. Used bacon instead of ham. My husband loved it. Will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie Suycott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This isn't really carbonara. I'm not basing my star rating on that fact, but please be aware that carbonara contains beaten egg tossed with hot pasta to lightly cook the egg. This isn't that dish. My rating is based on the following facts: 1. There is way too much sauce for this recipe. 2. The recipe desperately needs more flavor. I added extra cheese and grated garlic. 3. As soon as the sauce started to bubble, it started to break. The resulting texture was not great. My husband picked out and ate just the tortellini. The 1/2 inch chunks of ham seemed strange to us as well. I liked the idea of a tortellini carbonara, but this isn't really what I had in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
We did like this recipe, very easy. I did change this up a bit based on other comments. I used 1/2 of the half and half due to others commenting on this runny. I added in more as it thickened up. I also used pancetta instead of ham due to our preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I thought that this was a very good recipe. I modified it like I always do though. I added Mushrooms and 4 oz. of cream cheese. It was very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I did not like this dish. I have made a lot of cheese sauces and this one was abominable. The parmesan did not break down and the sauce didn’t thicken so I used cornstarch to set. With a different sauce I believe that this would be a wonderful dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Okay, this was a wonderful, full of flavor meal. I am only giving it 4 stars, though, because half-and-half will never thicken properly. I used 2 cups of heavy cream and 2 cups of half-and-half and it thickened beautifully! My family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

This creamy pasta salad is the perfect side for picnics, potlucks, and BBQs.

How to Make Spaghetti alla Carbonara

See how to make simple spaghetti with bacon and egg sauce!

Spaghetti Carbonara II

Bacon, eggs and pasta--what's not to like?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States