Torta De Hojas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I made this for a friend's birthday celebration and was a bit nervous since she is from Chile and I've never had this before. She made my day by raving about it! I used a homemade sweetened condensed milk recipe from this site and cooked it in a sauce pan until caramelized. That was my only tweak. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1wayin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillside, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Branchville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eclecticbuzzard
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I made mine with the alternate layers of whipped cream/manjar mixture and covered the whole stack with manjar, which required boiling four cans of condensed milk. I put chopped walnuts all 'round the side and strawberries on top. It's among the photos shown here. I must admit, it was surprisingly delicious. The flavor was not quite as intense as I had read in other reviews, and I noticed that after eating a whole slice, the flavor did not linger very long. It did not weigh heavily on my stomach either. I would consider it a tasty, full-bodied dessert, but not overly filling. The manjar was not like a dense, heavy caramel. It was thin and light tasting, although very sticky. It was very good, and we will make it again, but it was not fabulous enough to impress seven judges in a dessert bake-off at my workplace. It did not even place in the top four. It lost out to flan, apple pie, lemon cupcakes, and apple crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eclecticbuzzard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kriegerog
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I loved making this cake and it tastes great. They only think is that its time is misleading. It takes in the neighborhood of 4 hours. The frosting I used was a fluffy what frosting made from egg whites, boiled sugar water and cream of tartar which was then dumped into the freshly beaten egg whites which were flavored with vanilla and fresh cinnamon. Let me know what you guys think
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kriegerog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Alamitos, California, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
We made this for a pot-luck welcoming our friends back home from their vacation of hiking in Chile & Argentine - it was a hit, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This was a fantastic dessert! I made the recipe as instructed and it looked like an artisan masterpiece. I got rave reviews on it as well. It is very time consuming, I think I may add the whipped topping for the final layer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalonda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
This recipe is awesome! I used a large plate to cut out the circles so they were all an equal size. I'm making this cake again today to sell at a Chilean fundraiser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Urocyon
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
We adapted this recipe to cap off a Chilean wine tasting party and it was a huge hit. We found that the comments of reviewers on this page were very helpful; e.g., the prep/cooking times are longer than the recipe suggests, but the cake is still well worth the effort for a special occasion. It is best to make and assemble the cake the evening before; this allows the cake to settle and solidify (important when it comes to cutting the cake), and for the flavors (brandy, "manjar" (dulce de leche), sweet cream (which we added), walnuts (not chopped but ground up in a food processor; gave a finer texture)) to infuse into the pastry. Also, we felt it helped to paint the baked pastry layers with undiluted brandy. Just before serving, we topped the cake with whipped cream, fresh raspberries, and ground walnuts (see photo by recipe title).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This dessert came out fabulous! I had eaten it years ago at a Chilean friends house, and mine came out just as good. I added a bit more butter to the pastry just so that it was more flaky and would reduce the chance of it drying out. Mine baked for about 15 mins and the layers were perfect. A trick to cut down the 'dulce de leche' prep time. Put the can of condensed milk completely submerged in a pressure cooker and cook under full pressure for 20 mins. I have done it many times and it come out perfect and in a fraction of the time. It's nice to assemble it and leave in the refrigerator the day before or early in the day before serving as the layers get a bit moist and kind of mesh into each other nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This cake was very delicious for my family. I have heard much about "Torta de mil hojas", but I`ve never tried it before. I decided to try this recipe. I had only one can sweetened condensed milk and I used Katie`s suggestions about pastry cream. And to our family taste, the cake wasn`t so rich and intense. But to my personal taste the dough was too dry. I baked it until lighly brown (some of the layers weren`t lighly brown at all), approximately 10 minutes. Probably, I don`t like such kind of dough. If your layers aren`t lightly brown, but you feel, they are set, don`t bake any more. I also think it is not necessary to use water when you sprinkle the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Buche de Noel

See how to make a beautifully delicious Yule log for Christmas.

Ponche de Frutas (Fruit Punch)

See how to make a delicious and refreshing Mexican-style fruit punch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States