Torsk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Super fast and easy but this did have a sweet taste which seemed weird. Fish shouldn't be sweet. My mouth was puzzled. My hubs never said a word and he is usually the pickier diner. I used cod that was still frozen despite "thawing" in the refrigerator all day. Even though I only boiled it for barely over 3 minutes, it took a long time to get frozen fish to a boil, and then it started falling apart when I removed it and attempted to pat it dry for the last step. It was a decent dish, but we simply aren't fond of fish that hasn't been breaded in cornmeal and fried. I was trying to prepare healthy meals for us, but we both voted we'd prefer fried fish and would rather not have it at all unless it's fried. It's just a texture thing I suppose. The recipe itself was fine but neither of us compared it to lobster even "mock lobster". My husband loves lobster but this didn't make the cut for a cheap substitute even when served with the melted butter and lemon. I topped mine with plenty of squeezy lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Followed the recipe but cut done the butter. The result was amazing! Taste just like Lobster
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
loved this recipe for it ease & great flavor, not much of a lobster taste unless you make a garlic butter side sauce, not fishy tasting at all. Mine never really browned much buts that's fine I didn't want it over cooked. (Tip) open a window because the smoke set off my smoke detector lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherminator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
great recipe. very easy to make and tastes great. I always purchase cod in bulk when its on sale and this is my new go-to cod recipe. I added a little bit of garlic to the boil to give it a little something and served it with red curry brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Super easy, super good! Tender, not rubbery like cod sometimes can be. I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beau'sCookin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This does taste just like lobster! followed directions except for the paprika - I used a" honey aleppo pepper" spice blend in it's place, it came out phenomenal...definitely a keeper! I think it would have been good with the paprika also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Maybe my mistake was in using a fresh cod filet, but the boiling made it fall apart and the broiling just made it tough. Won't be doing this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Easton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Really enjoyed this! We don't eat a lot of fish but the flavour and texture were great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
make sure you don't skimp on the butter like I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Chef John's Scallop Gratin

Scallops baked in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States