Torsk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Awesome, entire family loved it! The only thing I did different was adding only 1/2 cup splenda instead of 1 cup sugar to the water. Plus - I don't think you need quite as much butter, I only used 3 tbsps while broiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
This tastes just like lobster. My whole family loves this recipe. I've made it at least 4 times, and I've had the best results when the cooked fish has time to chill and dry out in the fridge before broiling. I've used mostly frozen cod from Sam's Club. I'd like to try it with monkfish to see how that tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
I decided to give this recipe a try in an attempt to serve fish that isn't battered and fried to my family. I followed the recipe exactly and the results were great. I have four kids and they loved this recipe! The 3-year-old had three helpings! I agree with other reviews that it has a lobster-like consistency and flavor. Husband has already requested I make this again and often! Thanks for the great recipe and a nice change of pace from the same old fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
used center cut cod from sam's club brought water to full boil dropped fish in one at a time boiled just 2 min. didn't fall apart at all, did this in the morning wrapped in paper towels to dry then put between layers of wax paper in tuppperware in fridge. At dinner time put in disposable aluminum pan covered with butter and broiled til started to brown, delious whloe family loved it. Be sure to used thick cut loins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Brookings, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Oh my gosh!! This is a fantastic recipe if you love lobster, but it's beyond your pay grade. You need to adjust for the thickness of your fillets (boil/broil times), but this is dang close!! The sugar in the boiling mixture adds the sweetness, and the texture of the cod is tender and delicious! I broiled the fish with less butter and ate it with no extra butter, and it was still DELICIOUS!! How good would it be with extra buttah??? Will make again and again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mominator

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Michigan, USA
Living In: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
This was a great recipe! I used Market Day frozen cod, poached it using Splenda instead of sugar and cut the amount of butter in half. I also chilled the cod before broiling it. Best of all, the house didn't smell fishy after dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I cannot believe how easy this was and how good it was! My husband loved it. Even the two picky teenage girls thought it was great. I would not change a thing. Using the frozen filets was a great idea to help keep them together. I would only suggest to use a large deep skilett instead of a sauce pan so the filets don't bump together so much and fall apart. I've given the recipe out a lot since trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
who ever said this tastes like lobster was not kidding!!!!this was great,even my 7 year old who hates fish loved it and asked me to make it again!!thank
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kings Park, New York, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Just fabulous! I made this with a turnip gratin, and my husband was just over the moon! References to this tasting like lobster are totally true! I'm a non-sugar person, so I swap out for splenda, and it still tastes wonderful! Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRIPLETMOMMA2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
I made this dish with red snapper fillets. I spread the butter on the fish after boiling it then I sprinkled garlic powder, clubhouse italiano seasoning and parmesan cheese. I also used clubhouse roasted pepper and garlic seaoning on some of the fillets. My husband loved it he also said it tasted like lobster.It was easy and I will make it again and agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kitimat, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Miso Maple-Glazed Salmon

Watch Chef John prepare a super-easy salmon dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States