Torsk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This is a quick, easy recipe. The result is an attractive, mild but pretty good fish. Does taste a bit like lobster, especially with the melted butter served alongside...although I wouldn't say it is absolutely necessary to make the dish. I think it could have used a sprinkling of salt along with the paprika. Overall, a tasty, easy, and different way to prepare affordable frozen cod.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I used hake because it was very fresh at Whole Foods, even though I thought suspected it wouldn't really be that great because it's not cod. Well, everyone agreed that this recipe made hake unbelievably lobster-like, which is what I was shooting for for a Valentine's Day dinner. I actually planned a meal around a fantastic chardonnay that needed lobster or scallops, but they were out of my price range. This recipe did my wine justice. Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This is a great dish. My husband went deep sea fishing, and I am trying to use up 100 lbs of cod. This dish is like a "mock lobster". Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
My family just loved this! My 14 year old daughter had 3 helpings! I'm on my hcg diet ( www.discoverhcg.net) and I have to eat lots of fatty foods on the first two days and this was perfect and delicious! Tastes just like lobster. Be sure to not overcook or it will dry out, even with all that butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jan Shamasko
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I could never cook fish. Always over-cooked it. After trying this recipe, I went exactly by the instructions. My husband tasted it and said"Now you can cook fish! This is perfect... It does taste a bit like lobster with the same texture. It was the best fish I have ever attempted to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Shamasko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Show Low, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
LOVE this recipe!!! And it tasted just like lobster to me. My kids said it tasted like crab, but I don't think they have ever tried lobster before. The whole family loved it!! I needed to use up a frozen bag of cod that I had in my freezer and now I can't wait to go back to the store to buy more frozen cod!! Only problem....(my fault) was I overcooked a little bit...I broiled it for 8 minutes, opened my oven and it was beginning to smoke! I think I had the temp too high. Next time I'll turn the broiler down a bit and check it before 8 min. It still turned out great though....didn't seem to have too much effect on the fish except for a little on the dry side. This recipe is definately a keeper in my house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Had to try this out of pure curiosity... and now I'm hooked! The family went head over heels for it... and they agreed it really tastes like lobster!! I used 2 lbs of cod and kept the rest of the ingredients the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Not terribly flavorful and definitely did NOT taste like lobster, but not a bad meal. I don't think I'll make it again though. Its jut not worth the extra steps for some broiled cod.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
While the recipe sounded a bit bizarre, I gave it a try and we were very pleasantly surprised at how delicious it was. It does have that wonderful taste of lobster. I used Splenda instead of sugar as suggested by other reviewers. My husband asked for more....unfortunately there was no more since I was leery and didn't cook that much fish in case we didn't like it. I will make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kidzmom42

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Lemon-Pepper Salmon II

Oven-broiled salmon, glazed with butter and soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States