Torsk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
This REALLY tastes like Lobster!! I was looking for a simple recipe. My cod wasn't thick enough and fell apart before the end of the boiling phase. I found out that my BF doesn't like Lobster, so he hated this. It tasted bland and a bit too sweet for me. It IS a gluten-free and cheap alternative to lobster, but my family labeled it a "dud." If I ever made it again, I would lessen the amount of sugar used, although that might make it taste less like lobster. I won't be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Pretty delish. Family just thought it was ok...but I thought it tasted just like lobster..pretty yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Easy and great tasting. I use fresh cod from the butcher for this, so I double the amount of fish because it shrinks in the boiling process. My husband goes nuts for this recipe with a side of rice pilaf. It has become a staple in our menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmerar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
As advertised - easy and tastes (kind of) like lobster. However, I'd say this could easily work with less butter. I used only the 6 tablespoons it calls for as basting liquid - putting about 3/4 of it on prior to broiling, and the rest after broiling before serving, and I thought it was still too much. No need to add extra butter tableside. Best parts of the recipe are that it's prepared from frozen and it loses its fishy taste in the sweet boiling liquid and the buttery broil, to appease picky eaters who don't like fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
It's easier not to overcook the fish this way. It tasted pretty good. My husband and I agreed that we didn't need that much butter for dipping, so you might want to use less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LutherAnn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Thank you for giving me a new idea for preparing cod. However, I expected some sort of transformation of the fish, based on all the glowing reviews and comparisons to lobster. It's like lobster in that you dip it in butter, but that's where the similarity ends. Next time I'll just butter poach the fish for rich, sweet, lobster-y flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pulaski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Got my kids to eat fish and they could help me make the meal! The only change was I bought the pre-made butter with dill sauce. I also made spinach couscous and put the fish on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
This was excellent! I made it just as the recipe directed and we all enjoyed it very much. Thank you for sending thisin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Yum! The verdict was that it didn't really taste like lobster but was absolutely delish anyhow. Even my picky son loved it. Great texture, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: North Stonington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I've made this once already. My family LOVED it. My db bragged about it to all his friends and family they wanted the recipe so i guided them to the site. Nothing but rave reviews from them also. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Lemon-Pepper Salmon II

Oven-broiled salmon, glazed with butter and soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States