Torsk Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This was wonderful! Made this recipe exactly how it was written. I used frozen cod loins from Sam's. I have made this twice and both times I patted the fish dry with paper towels after boiling and then put it in the fridge while I made the side dishes. One or two of the fillets broke up a little bit while boiling but I just kinda stuck it back together on the baking pan and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Very similar tasting to Monk Fish cooked this way - a hit with all my guys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJPasqua

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Made as directed. Boiled the water first then added 4 oz. frozen fish chunks. Broiled for 5 minutes. Served with melted butter. A bit dry, but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I added 2 tbls Balsamic Vinegar; Garlic Powder,parsley flakes and a generous amount of Old Bay seasoning to the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Tastes just like lobster! I've had so many people ask me for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
We loved this - we used cod fillets that were a little on the thin side. I did not boil them, I just brought them up to simmer till they were opaque and then took them out. After patting them dry I gave them a little shmear of garlic paste, then drizzled with butter and sprinkled with seafood seasoning. Broiling was shorter because they were thin, and they turned out awesome! Delicious! The family loved it, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I have made this several times now, always with just one cod loin since I'm the only one in my family that will eat fish. When you scale to 1 serving, don't worry too much about the sugar water proportions. You will need the water to cover the fish, so just put in enough to cover then eyeball the sugar to get the ratio about the same as the recipe calls for. This is super easy to make for one person, it goes very quickly so I'm not slaving over 2 meals. It does NOT taste like lobster, but it does taste like very un-fishy, buttery, delicious fish. Before I serve, I usually flake the fish apart in the dish I broiled it in to pick up all the delicious browned butter from the pan. Really good, thanks for the recipe. I never would have come up with this one on my own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I just made this and it was so, so easy and delicious. After broiling I added a little Tony Chachere's Cajun seasoning for kick and fresh dill. It did taste a little like lobster. Really neat! I can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
We had fresh fish; reduced boiling time to 2 minutes and broiling time to 3-4 depending upon thickness. It was good, but not quite to the 'lobster level' others encountered. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Make sure you use the paper towels as recommended- you don't want it to be wet when you broil it. We served it like lobster, with garlic butter. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Miso-Glazed Black Cod

See how to make an easy Japanese-inspired miso glaze for broiled cod.

Miso Maple-Glazed Salmon

Watch Chef John prepare a super-easy salmon dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States