Topsy-Turvy Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2000
The candied pecans are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
This recipe turned out great. The apple mixture wasn't overly sweet, so it went really well with the candied pecans. If you aren't worried about presentation, you can use crumbled pecans (like I did because I had to shell them) and it tastes just as yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genee_in_a_bottle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pomona, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2004
top (or bottom), the flipped side, didn't cook for me. Just a doughy mess. Not too flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
The kid's loved it! It was fairly simple to make as well. Yummy, Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I tried this recipe because we were tired of plain old apple pie. It is so good. This has become a family tradition for the holidays! I don't know who came up with this recipe, but THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cmsassman
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Fairly easy to make, unique pie but wonderful flavor & rave reviews from everyone. Hint: dont let the pie cool too much before you flip it as becomes impossible to remove from the pan. If this happens, put it back in the oven just long enough to soften the sugars back up and flip it quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
This was GREAT! Absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
This is a great alternative to traditional apple pies! My family loved it and said it was a keeper!!! I've made it a few times and found real butter spreads more easily in the bottom of the pie plate than margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by auntpenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cortland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Leesville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Awesome concept and a scrumptious, gooey addition to an apple pie that took it over the top! Made this pie last night by happenstance. I had a ruined pie crust/dough and needed to disguise it and voila! A delicious find. This pie was enjoyed by everyone who tried it this morning. A girl who loves apple pie and who I actually made it for said,"This is the best apple pie! Ever!" I didn't follow the recipe exactly; I used another recipe for the pie crusts; pre-cooked the thinly sliced(1/8") Granny Smith apples and the ingredients for 15 mins over med/low heat and then cooled. Tasted it for its sweetness and sprinkled another 1/4c. brown sugar. I generally drain the filling, so it's not runny/slimey, which I find so prevalent in many pies. It's a process, but I will make it again for Thanksgiving. Thanks for sharing cmsassman!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I made this delicious pie, it is a keeper! I used my own pie crust though.....we had a friend over to enjoy with us. It is beautiful to look at and to eat! A mixture between a apple and pecan pie. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States