Topsy-Turvy Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kkelly
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This was super simple to make and absolutely amazing. I had about 5 1/2 cups of apples so I used them all and it was perfect... not too sweet and very flavorful... and I had the kids make it - they can't wait to have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Make this exactly as directed! But let it cool before serving so that the top can glaze over a bit. It came out perfect... and I am a terrible baker! I used Pillsbury rolled pie crust (in the long red box). Tastes extra yummy warmed up with a little ice cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I only had one crust, so I put aluminum foil over the pie while baking it. I flipped it over and it is still easy to serve without the second crust. Tastes wonderful! It is like a caramel roll with apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foxy Lady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eleva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This is one of the best pies I have ever made. Absolutely DELICIOUS! It is a keeper! I do prefer to make my pie crust from scratch, but that is the only difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
delicious! I lined the pie plate with parchment so I did not have any difficulty getting it out. I flipped it about 5 minutes after taking it out of the oven, since so many people had warned about it sticking if you wait too long. However, I did have a bit of the juice from the apples seep out the vents and pool around the bottom of the now upside down pie. It ended up still being moist, so not a problem, just did not look quite as nice. Next time I might wait longer. I did not have corn syrup, so I used maple, could not really taste it. I think maybe the syrup serves another function, like smoothing out the brown sugar and butter. Mine was a little granular, but still totally delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Excellent pie! I followed the recipe exactly. The wonderful, sweet juice runs out of the pie as it sits, so make sure your serving plate has a rim on it! My plate was flat, and I ended up spilling hot syrup all over myself trying to transport the pie to a friend's for Christmas. But once we got there, the pie was a huge hit. I served it with whipped heavy whipping cream spiked with a little vanilla and almond extract for a punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Hadley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Excellent! Made it exactly as written with the exception of adding extra pecans. This is my new favorite pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Amazing! Was pretty easy to make and flavor was superb! I added about 2 tablespoons of butter cut into small pieces for the apple layer. Didn't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CherylMak
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Made this for Rosh Hashanah dinner (Jewish New Year), for which apple desserts are tradition. It was delicious. Served it room temp, but I bet warm would have been really great. Followed the recipe, one minor change was chopping the pecans up so they would be easier to serve and eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Pretty much fail safe recipe and it avoids the problem of a high crust with lots of air between it and the apples. Nice change of pace from the standard apple pie. I chopped the pecans to make it easier to slice and that worked out well - otherwise no changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Crumble Pie

This fresh apple crumble pie is delicious and as easy as pie.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States