Topless Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chef W
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
INCREDIBLE, INCREDIBLE, INCREDIBLE! I read that this had a fairly thick cornstarch flavor, so instead of 1 c. water I did 1/4 c. lemon juice and 3/4 c. -- COMPLETELY covers any cornstarch flavor there might have been... I can't taste any at all. :) Thickens nicely -- I used frozen blueberries, but not the kind in syrup. Worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef W

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
I wanted to try something new for my family who has always cooked with blueberries. This is a great pie because the blueberries stay and it does not run everywhere.I can also let my children help, and it is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
the best homemade blueberry pie I ever made. Easy instructions, but make sure you wait until the mixture has truly thickened before removing it from the heat Also, you may want to try using a touch less corn starch. The pie got almost too thick, but still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This recipe is exactly what I was looking for. I bought a big bag of frozen blueberries and wanted some recipes to use them in. With the weather getting warmer and warmer, I also wanted to have something that would make a nice cool dessert. My family and I absolutely loved this pie! I read the comments regarding the amount of cornstarch, so I did reduce the amount to 2.5 tablespoons - even with that, it still thickened up very nicely. I can't wait to make another pie like this, as I'm sure this one won't last much longer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
I have tried this recipe several times and its a winner. the fresh blueberries are just wonderful. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
I loved this recipe because the sugar didn't overpower the yummy blueberry taste, plus it is super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
this is now one of my families favorites It is not too sweet and tastes really fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I used this recipe for a July 4th dessert. When placed in my star-shaped cake pan and topped with a few strawberries it was perfect. I did use 2 TBS. of corn starch and cooked it a bit longer than 10 minutes. (altitude adjustment)It thickened beautifully. I used a homemade crust and doubled the amount. The thicker crust and strawberries made it so unbelievable delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Most excellent !!! As per other reviewers, I did reduce the cornstarch to 2 1/2 tbls. For the liquid, I used 1/2 c. water, 1/4 c. lemon juice, and 1/4 c. orange/cranberry juice. Excellent mixture. Not tasted yet as they are now in the fridge. But I will certainly make the mixture again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
simple, easy, delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States