Topless Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
A delicious, super-easy pie to put together. Loved that you only heat 1 cup of the blueberries and the other 3 cups are gently stirred in before adding it to the crust. This kept all the blueberries nice and plump. I added a little lemon zest to the mixture before pouring in to the crust. It is wonderful as written, but next time I'm going to try part lemon juice and part water as I love the taste of blueberries and lemon. The real bonus to this pie is that it cuts beautifully. It held its shape and plated nicely. This would be a great recipe to use for a strawberry, raspberry or fresh peach pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This recipe is very tasty because 3/4 of the blueberries are not cooked,giving a true blueberry taste. I used Nova Scotia wild blueberries...the very best. And I added 1 T.of lemon juice. I am thinking about adding a meringue next time! Or whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Excellent! I also modified the liquid to 1/4 cup lemon juice and 3/4 cup water, decreased cornstarch to 2 1/2 Tbs and added ginger and cinnamon (1/4 tsp each). I loved that the oven was only on to bake the crust. I'm going to use this recipe for all my fruit pies. I received rave reviews from 'professional' pie eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I have been searching for a recipe like this. My mom used to make one like it and I have wonderful memories of it. This pie withstood the test, total keeper. Next time I will try it with the lemon juice. Also I used a frozen Marie Callendar crust because I'm a cheater :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Wow! Exactly what I wanted! I've tried many recipes on this site but never left a review before. I followed recipe exact and also took the advise of others to add a touch of lemon juice. Cooked the sauce till clear and thick. It was perfect! No CornStarch flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
~Worked great for me~ I've made it three times to date. I use 1 bag of frozen wild blueberries, 2.5 T of cornstarch dissolved in 1/3C of water and 1/4C lemon juice plus zest. Cut the sugar to 1/2C. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I made this for a cookout last night. Everyone raved about it! I used only 2 1/2 tablespoons cornstarch and 3/4 cup water with 1/4 cup lemon juice as suggested by others. I also used fresh blueberries. Wonderful! Be sure to make 2 pies since 1 will not be enough - it is so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Wonderfull and easy pie. It is blueberry season here in Michigan, so I'll make lots of these pies over the next 5-6 weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Amazing and simple. Two of my favorite words. Perfect just the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manheim, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Still trying to figure out why this seemingly simple recipe just didn't turn out for me. I took the advice of others & did 1/4cup of lemon juice& 3/4 cup of water. I used the 3 tbps of cornstarch & the pie was still a soupy mess after sitting in the fridge all night.:( the taste wasn't bad but it sure wasn't pie. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States