Topless Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This recipe is exactly what I was looking for. I bought a big bag of frozen blueberries and wanted some recipes to use them in. With the weather getting warmer and warmer, I also wanted to have something that would make a nice cool dessert. My family and I absolutely loved this pie! I read the comments regarding the amount of cornstarch, so I did reduce the amount to 2.5 tablespoons - even with that, it still thickened up very nicely. I can't wait to make another pie like this, as I'm sure this one won't last much longer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
I wanted to try something new for my family who has always cooked with blueberries. This is a great pie because the blueberries stay and it does not run everywhere.I can also let my children help, and it is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
I have tried this recipe several times and its a winner. the fresh blueberries are just wonderful. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
I loved this recipe because the sugar didn't overpower the yummy blueberry taste, plus it is super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
this is now one of my families favorites It is not too sweet and tastes really fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
the best homemade blueberry pie I ever made. Easy instructions, but make sure you wait until the mixture has truly thickened before removing it from the heat Also, you may want to try using a touch less corn starch. The pie got almost too thick, but still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef W
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
INCREDIBLE, INCREDIBLE, INCREDIBLE! I read that this had a fairly thick cornstarch flavor, so instead of 1 c. water I did 1/4 c. lemon juice and 3/4 c. -- COMPLETELY covers any cornstarch flavor there might have been... I can't taste any at all. :) Thickens nicely -- I used frozen blueberries, but not the kind in syrup. Worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef W

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I used this recipe for a July 4th dessert. When placed in my star-shaped cake pan and topped with a few strawberries it was perfect. I did use 2 TBS. of corn starch and cooked it a bit longer than 10 minutes. (altitude adjustment)It thickened beautifully. I used a homemade crust and doubled the amount. The thicker crust and strawberries made it so unbelievable delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
Most excellent !!! As per other reviewers, I did reduce the cornstarch to 2 1/2 tbls. For the liquid, I used 1/2 c. water, 1/4 c. lemon juice, and 1/4 c. orange/cranberry juice. Excellent mixture. Not tasted yet as they are now in the fridge. But I will certainly make the mixture again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
simple, easy, delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States