Topless Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
I wanted to try something new for my family who has always cooked with blueberries. This is a great pie because the blueberries stay and it does not run everywhere.I can also let my children help, and it is so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
I have tried this recipe several times and its a winner. the fresh blueberries are just wonderful. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
I loved this recipe because the sugar didn't overpower the yummy blueberry taste, plus it is super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
this is now one of my families favorites It is not too sweet and tastes really fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
There is too much cornstarch in this recipe. Yes it holds together well, but all I could taste was the cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barney, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
the best homemade blueberry pie I ever made. Easy instructions, but make sure you wait until the mixture has truly thickened before removing it from the heat Also, you may want to try using a touch less corn starch. The pie got almost too thick, but still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
Previous review is right - tastes more like cornstarch than blueberry pie. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRUBBIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richeyville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
This didn't turn out well for me. Granted, I used frozen blueberries, so that might have had something to do with it. Also, maybe I didn't heat it long enough. I thought it was "thick", but maybe I need more of a description of how thick. I followed the instructions to drain the berries and use the juice instead of water. Also, I cut the cornstarch down to 2 Tbsp. since there were a couple of complaints of it tasting to heavily of cornstarch. The result was soupy and too sweet and still a little cornstarchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
A good, easy recipe for a pie that's less unhealthy than most, since there's only one crust; top with fat-free Cool Whip to help keep it that way. It was quite sweet, so I think I can cut back the sugar next time. I used frozen blueberries and put them in the pot, still frozen, along with 1/2 cup of water. I dissolved the 3 T of cornstarch in a bit of water and then added it slowly to the blueberries. When it thickened it got VERY thick, but it didn't taste cornstarchy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
the blueberries tasted great, i used frozen and i cut the sugar to 1/2 cup. i used less cornstarch but since no one really said how much less to use i used 1 1/2 tbsp. and i think i should have used more. i will try it again and use 2 tbsp and see if it thickens up a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raymore, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States