Topless Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I used this recipe for a July 4th dessert. When placed in my star-shaped cake pan and topped with a few strawberries it was perfect. I did use 2 TBS. of corn starch and cooked it a bit longer than 10 minutes. (altitude adjustment)It thickened beautifully. I used a homemade crust and doubled the amount. The thicker crust and strawberries made it so unbelievable delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef W
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
INCREDIBLE, INCREDIBLE, INCREDIBLE! I read that this had a fairly thick cornstarch flavor, so instead of 1 c. water I did 1/4 c. lemon juice and 3/4 c. -- COMPLETELY covers any cornstarch flavor there might have been... I can't taste any at all. :) Thickens nicely -- I used frozen blueberries, but not the kind in syrup. Worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef W

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This recipe is exactly what I was looking for. I bought a big bag of frozen blueberries and wanted some recipes to use them in. With the weather getting warmer and warmer, I also wanted to have something that would make a nice cool dessert. My family and I absolutely loved this pie! I read the comments regarding the amount of cornstarch, so I did reduce the amount to 2.5 tablespoons - even with that, it still thickened up very nicely. I can't wait to make another pie like this, as I'm sure this one won't last much longer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
the blueberries tasted great, i used frozen and i cut the sugar to 1/2 cup. i used less cornstarch but since no one really said how much less to use i used 1 1/2 tbsp. and i think i should have used more. i will try it again and use 2 tbsp and see if it thickens up a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raymore, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
A good, easy recipe for a pie that's less unhealthy than most, since there's only one crust; top with fat-free Cool Whip to help keep it that way. It was quite sweet, so I think I can cut back the sugar next time. I used frozen blueberries and put them in the pot, still frozen, along with 1/2 cup of water. I dissolved the 3 T of cornstarch in a bit of water and then added it slowly to the blueberries. When it thickened it got VERY thick, but it didn't taste cornstarchy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
This didn't turn out well for me. Granted, I used frozen blueberries, so that might have had something to do with it. Also, maybe I didn't heat it long enough. I thought it was "thick", but maybe I need more of a description of how thick. I followed the instructions to drain the berries and use the juice instead of water. Also, I cut the cornstarch down to 2 Tbsp. since there were a couple of complaints of it tasting to heavily of cornstarch. The result was soupy and too sweet and still a little cornstarchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
Previous review is right - tastes more like cornstarch than blueberry pie. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRUBBIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richeyville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2004
the best homemade blueberry pie I ever made. Easy instructions, but make sure you wait until the mixture has truly thickened before removing it from the heat Also, you may want to try using a touch less corn starch. The pie got almost too thick, but still very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2004
There is too much cornstarch in this recipe. Yes it holds together well, but all I could taste was the cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barney, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
this is now one of my families favorites It is not too sweet and tastes really fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States