Topless Blueberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Good, but too much corn starch if made as written. It got quite congealed and didn't look very appetizing in the pan, but tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Very good, but probably a tad too much cornstarch. I probably should've gone ahead and used 2 1/2 tablespoons like others did. It doesn't really taste like cornstarch but it REALLY gels; it reminded me of the consistency of canned cranberry sauce actually. Not sure that's the best thing, so I'd cut back on the cornstarch next time. Wonderful blueberry flavor though; bf was thrilled since he loves blueberries. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Great, simple recipe for blueberry pie filling. Tried it with graham crumb crust and flaky pie crust. The flaky pie crust was a much better complement to the fresh berries. Definitely substitute lemon juice for 1/4 cup of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Made these today, in tart shells instead of one big pie. Turned out really well. I took the advice of others and added some lemon juice, and also added in about a heaping tablespoon of raspberry jam while the mixture was cooking. These are great really cold, even out of the freezer and thawed for just a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This was way too bland for our taste. My husband asked if I'd just go out and buy a blueberry pie next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
excellent recipe I love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I also added lemon juice (1/4 cup sub with 3/4 cup water),lemon zest and some cinnamon. Only used the 2.5 T cornstarch. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I wish I would have listened to reviewers who added the lemon juice. I usually follow a recipe the first time and then tweak afterwards. But the reviewers knew something I didn't. The lemon juice would have definitely been a great addition. I liked how easy it was to make this pie. Not having to turn on the oven was a big reason I chose it. I put the berries in a graham cracker crust though because that was what I had in the pantry. I liked that. However, I don't think I will make this again. My family went blueberry picking and I would rather make other things with the berries than this pie. It was a bit boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
As other reviewers suggested, I used 3/4 cup water and 1/4 cup lemon juice. Then added the zest of 1 lemon when I added the 3 cups blueberries. This was excellent with fresh whipped cream. I didn't think it was too sweet. I made it a second time with a graham cracker crust - out standing, will definately do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendynik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Great pie filling, I will be making this often. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Creamy Blueberry Pie

See how to make a simple custardy blueberry pie that's not too sweet.

Blueberry Pie

Make a delicious fresh blueberry pie, complete with lattice crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States