Top Shelf Margaritas on the Rocks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This is a great recipe. Although I used splenda (2 Tbsp) instead of the simple syrup and I do not add the egg. They are great and friends love the fact that it is lower cal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I'm giving this 5 stars for actually giving me pure ingredients! I can't get the pre-concentrated stuff where I live so I am really excited about making this from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by texanbelle71

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
My first time making a margarita. Yummy. I used lime juice in the sour mix since that's all I had, and I nixed the egg white. My only complaint is that the recipe makes odd amounts of simple syrup and sour mix...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Wow. Yum! I made the recipe to take to a Cooking Light supper club tonight, and it's a very authentic-tasting margarita! It's a fair amount of work, juicing all the lemons & limes, but the final taste is worth it for sure. I rated the recipe a '4' because I used 1/2 the amount of tequila (using the whole amount would have been waaaaay too much, for me). I also omitted the egg white; although I'm not too squeamish about raw egg myself, I'm bringing it to serve to a group. Plus, I want to use the leftover sour mix to make lemonade for my kids. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
It is very tasty and doesn't have that artificial-ness as the bottled "fake" sour mixes bring but this was MUCHO STRONG!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Wow I just realized when I came to rate this that I made them wrong. I made as directed, without the egg white (Seemed kinda odd to me), and by mistake I did not add that last 1/2 cup of lime juice. I don't know why... I didn't even see it in the ingredients somehow! I did use a mixture of lemons and limes in the sour mix though, and it was slightly more than the 1/ 1/2 cups. I poured all of that into the pitcher. It's weird the recipe tells you to make all that sour mix and not use it all... But the end result were very good margaritas that are not too sweet. I used only 1 1/2 cups tequila instead of 2 cups, and although I would have preferred them full strength, all my guests still thought they were pretty strong and were glad I didn't use anymore tequila than that. I also kept the remaining simple syrup and let people add some if they preferred a sweeter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Fresh ingredients make all the difference!!! Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
The recipe as is has too much alcohol in it for me, so I lightened it up with more juice. Good recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tryingcake
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Excellent. I'm was a bit worried about the raw egg but decided to live on the edge... This recipe ROCKS!! (NO pun intended! tee-hee). Scaled it down to 4. There's just two of us tonight. No need for 16 margaritas between the two of us. LOL - Wouldn't that prove for a great evening?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tryingcake

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Exceptional! We're not drinkers, but enjoy an occasional Margarita with some great mexican food. These are wonderful. Squeezed fresh limes and lemons, made exactly as recipe called for...perfect! mmmmmm....don't forget to salt the rims!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lindsborg, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Frozen Margaritas

See how to blend the perfect frozen margarita.

Make the Best Margaritas

See how easy it is to make a classic margarita.

Margaritas

Watch how to make these 5-star margaritas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States