Too Much Strawberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I didn't have strawberry cake mix so I used lemon with lemon pudding mix...wow! This is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Used Pillsbury strawberry cake mix with pudding already in mix, 1 cup of sour cream, 3/4 cup of oil (other reviewers stated), 1/4 cup of pureed frozen strawberries that were nuked in the microwave, 4 eggs, and 1/2 t. of imitation strawberry extract. WOW! This is going to amazing with my strawberry cream cheese frosting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
The grocery store didn't have strawberry cake mix so I used vanilla cake mix and vanilla pudding mix, it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
My husband loves strawberry cake, so I made this for his birthday. He was amazed. It is so moist. I didn't have store bought frosting, so I made cream cheese frosting and threw some strawberries in it. It was wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I made this last night for a co-workers birthday today. It is delicious! However, I probably would reduce the oil to 3/4 cup. I also added 2 cups of white chocolate chips - yes, it's very sweet! Also, I microwaved the remainder of the strawberry frosting and drizzled it over the finished cake. Pretty as well as tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
We have made Too much Chocolate Cake and yesterday tried this recipe but with Lemon. Everyone said this was the best lemon cake they have had. I frosted it with the Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting by Carol and it was AMAZING! These recipes will be a go to favorite from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Substituted applesauce for the oil as suggested and used low fat sour cream too. I found this to be an excellent cake that you can throw together in the time it takes to preheat the oven. Not made from scratch but customized enough to make it stand out. Had a nice crispy exterior and moist interior. The cake is not very sweet but the frosting gives it that extra sweet note. Will definitely make this again. Also will try the chocolate and lemon version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lula Grable

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I love this cake! Quick, easy, and super yummy!! I took some advice from the reviews and reduced the oil to 3/4 cup...added 1pkg of white chocolate chips...and microwaved the remaining icing and drizzled it over the cooled cake!! I also placed whole fresh strawberries in the center of the bundt cake. Ding ding ding...Winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I made a very similar cake to this before (Lisa's chocolate cake ~ from this site). The main thing with this recipe is to reduce the oil to just 1/2 cup (1/2 cup of apple sauce also works very well). I did add one cup of white chocolate chips and 1 teaspoon of strawberry extract and one teaspoon of almond extract. I baked two of these cake for the guys at work and everybody loved it. The cake had disappeared so fast. The result was a very moist and flavorful bundt. certainly be making this cake again. Forgot to mention I used the Pilsbury cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This recipe and the Too Much Chocolate Cake recipe are now my go-to recipes for cupcakes. They come out so perfectly moist, fluffy, airy, and light with beautiful flavor and they rise nicely too. I think I put my first batch (which I did vanilla instead of strawberry) in the fridge for like an hour or two, and they were even better afterward. Love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laliad5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States