Too Much Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
WOW! I followed recipe exactly the first time. It must have been good because by the time I cleaned the kitchen, all the muffins were gone. Second time I used coffee instead of water and peanut butter chips instead of chocolate. Topped it with peanut butter icing ( 1/3 cup butter and 1/3 cup brown sugar with 1tb.milk,bring to boil stirring constantly for 2min then add 2/3 cup peanut butter and let cool until it thickens)...they were soooo good. Next time I might try a healthy version but how can you improve perfection. I made giant muffins instead of bundt cake and cooked them at 350 for 35 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
A friend asked me to make a "show-off" chocolate cake that he could give as a gift to the staff at his primary care physician's office... and this recipe filled the bill very nicely. I used a high-quality, very dark chocolate, added 2 Tablespoons Chambord raspberry liquer to the batter, baked in 3 layers, and made a simple ganache (2 cups very dark chocolate melting chips, 1 cup heavy cream melted together and cooled on the counter to retain its lovely gloss) to frost. Split 2 layers horizontally, turned cut sides down and brushed lightly with a couple more Tablspoons Chambord, then assembled with a bit of ganache between layers, and frosted with the remaining ganache and garnished the top with chopped black walnuts. The third layer I cut in half to make a "half cake" for my friend and his neighbors. Both cakes were stored in fridge about 36 hours before serving... His Dr. reminded him that he was "NOT supposed to be eating things like this, but it's REALLY good!" No negative reviews, and he was very pleased with the results... Great cake, lovely presentation, not for daily comsumption!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Awesome. Doesn't even need icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Awesome, moist followed recipe to the t.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Decadent - cut the morsels down to 1 cup and had to use 2-3oz small boxes of instant chocolate pudding (instead of the one large 5oz pkg called for) because it was all I had. Increased the water to 1 cup due to the density of batter with the increased instant pudding. Swapped coconut oil for the vegetable oil and used Egg Beaters instead of whole eggs for healthier option. This is a wonderfully dense, not-too-sweet chocolate cake that needs no frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Add chocolate ganache
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This cake it always a hit whenever I bring it somewhere. It's a bit expensive, so I save it for important gatherings. Do not attempt to leave this in your own home, or you will eat it all yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akc52

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Exactly what it sounds like. This is a super chocolatey cake, just a winner all around. I made up a simple glaze for it but I'm sure this would be great with or without. I did use about half the amount of chocolate chips and it was plenty. Maybe mini chips would be nice little flecks throughout the batter but regular sized ones were too big to use the full amount called for, imho. Definitely keeping this on file for those crazy days only chocolate can fix! ;) Very quick to mix up, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Baked this cake for my employees, it didn't last 24 hours!!!!! I followed the recipe exactly and it was beyond scrumptious!!!! I have to bake another because most of my staff didn't get any due to the others coming back for seconds and thirds!!!! Definitely is now a staple in my house!!! Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Made exactly according to directions and delicious every time. Thanks for the easy excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 4,304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States