Too Much Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This is a great, easy chocolate cake. I drizzled a chocolate ganache on top and sprinkled it with crushed peppermint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Accidently left out the chocolate chips. Just tasted like a doctored up cake mix. You could def taste the mix. Made them in cupcake form, baked for 20 min. They came out fine although deflated when they came out of the oven. There's a better doctored chocolate cake on Allrecipes that I'd rather use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I too read many reviews. I say Don't change anything. First one gone in 2 days. The second one was requested for a birthday. Requests keep coming for recipe. I tell everyone I share it with, forget the calories and just enjoy! Thanks for a great cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I love this recipe and have made it a few different ways I have followed the recipe exactly and over time made a few modifications. I don’t use water in recipes it has no flavor so I substituted the water with fresh brewed coffee, I also don’t like oil so I replaced the oil with melted butter I also added ½ the Sour cream and added ½ cup of cream cheese. I grease my pan with shortening and dust with flour. I love this cake it always comes out moist (I usually have to cook a bit longer then the recipes calls for).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This is a great doctored cake mix recipe and you can customize it by using different cake flavors, chips, and pudding mixes. I found that 1 cup of oil is simply way too much, I cut it down to 1/2 when I made it the second time and it was far better. Swapping out the warm water for 1/2 cup of milk is also a good idea. As written, this is a very good cake but with too much oil, so I say 4 stars. Cut down on the oil and use milk rather than water and it's a five star cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This was great! Easy and a huge hit at Christmas dinner. Everyone was asking for the recipe. Thanks for this one! I'll be keeping this in my rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Tried, true and easy. I have made this cake so many times and so have my friends who asked for the recipe. So moist, prepared as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mike
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
There was a last minute request for anything chocolate from my office staff after looking at the deserts coming to our Christmas pot luck. Love fudge this time of year but that is not to creative so I decided to bake a cake for the holidays and ALL CHOCOLATE. Well, this cake was not only a hit by taste but most people did not want to be the first to cut into this wreath because of the simple but festive decoration. In the end, it was just what everyone wanted and thank you Denise for the help in getting there. Great recipe AND fun to do with that powdered sugar, mint leaves and raspberries. Merry Christmas everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Love this recipe!! Easy and very good. Moist and full of chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 4,465) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States