Too Much Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I just made this-according to directions- even though the 2c chocolate chips seemed like too much and I could find a 15.25oz box of cake. This was so unbelievably easy! With the amount of oil it did not stick to the bowl and poured very easily into the pam-sprayed bunt pan. Baked about 45 min. Couple hours later it slipped easily out of the pan onto a plate and I dusted with powdered sugar. Looked great! A+ for ease! I brought this into work and I think everyone had a slice. People said it was good, but no one really raved about it, or asked for the recipe, like they do when they love it. I personally thought it was too rich. I won’t make again. I would rather have just a lighter plain devil’s food cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellyann
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Wow! This is super decadent chocolate cake! It was really easy to make and easier to eat! I followed the recipe exactly (except used mini chocolate chips). I loved the way it got kind of crispy on the outside and the inside was velvety and rich. I made the satiny chocolate glaze as other reviewers have. It made the cake a little over the top sweet but still tastes incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This cake is AMAZING. I made it the night before work and took it with me, everyone was both impressed, delighted, and savoring over this recipe. I added a bit of Nutella and i loved it. This cake is so creamy, chocolatey, and just perfect. It's so simple and easy to make. You don't require a lot of ingredients and can make it whenever you want. Permanent addition to my house for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I don't even like chocolate cake and I liked this. Very rich, so next time I would try substituting more healthy ingredients into it but otherwise I followed the recipe exactly and it's great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Excellent cake. I used a chocolate fudge cake mix (that's what I had in the pantry) and mini chocolate chips. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyn Murphy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I didn't follow this recipe exactly. I had to make a few substitutions. Instead of sour cream, I used cream cheese. Instead of one large (6-8 serving) packet of chocolate pudding powder, I used 1 (4 serving) packet of Almond Joy pudding powder and 1 (4 serving)white chocolate pudding powder. The batter was very thick, but the cake came out great! It was very moist and delicious! I got lots of compliments! I served with strawberries and ice cream and no frosting. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warroad, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunniTX
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Very good. Used mini chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hob
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
This is an outstanding, quick cake recipe that requires no icing. I used chocolate fudge cake mix, reduced fat sour cream, sugar free butterscotch pudding mix and 1 c. Butterscotch chips. The cake turned out moist and decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I am not much of a chocolate cake fan, but even I have to say this cake is one of the best I've ever tasted. I've been making this a lot since I've found the recipe. It's rich and moist and very easy to make. I bake in small bundt pans, drizzle with chocolate ganache (overkill, I know) and use in my holiday goody bags as presents around Xmas. It's a hit every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maguie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Made this for my birthday, first bundt cake ever! It was excellent, and i followed the recipe with the exception of using olive oil (all i had on hand). Could not taste it.I also replaced the water with coffee as another reviewer suggested. Iced it with Satiny Chocolate Glaze and followed another reviewers suggestion to heat the butter and corn syrup first then add the chocolate chips, works fantastic, no microwaving needed. Garnished with local strawberries, now in season, which adds a fresh burst of flavour with such a rich cake. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 4,369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States