Too Much Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I used 3/4 c. oil and 3/4 c. water along with an extra 1/2 cup white sugar. Delicious.Used mini chips also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
A sure fired way to cure and chocolate craving. Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Desfosses-Gast

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klemme, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This is my "go to" chocolate cake recipe. I have made it more than 2 dozen times as written.... this is the cake my family (kids, parents, husband, in-laws, friends) want for their birthday. No more store bought cakes for us. This feels special and is SO delicious with chocolate ganache on top. (Melt choc. chips, add cream, a touch of vanilla...stir unit smooth and then pour over cake). I usually use my bundt pan. I usually make homemade vanilla bean ice cream to go with it. Today I am trying rounds, for a tall multi-layer cake for my daughters birthday. I used to be a "bake from scratch" baker.... or buy it from the store, but this recipe has made making an impressive dessert easy and fast.... and has changed my mind about using cake mixes as a base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
The mother of all chocolate cakes! Used 3/4 c. Oil and 1/4 c. Kahlua. Also added 1 T. Espresso powder. Otherwise followed recipe. Took one reviewer's advice and glazed with 1 c. Heavy cream heated with 1c. Chocolate chips til smooth. Cool and drizzle away. I call this "Death by Chocolate Cake."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I couldn't find an 18.25oz box of devils food cake mix and used the 15.25oz box. I even accidentally dumped in 1 cup of water instead of 1/2 cup. Despite those two mistakes, the cake turned out amazing. I'm a guy and don't bake and even I was able to make a crowd pleasing cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clint P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
OK I guess. Very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Tasted like a doctored box cake. Not bad, but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This is the best chocolate cake I gave ever had! I can't believe it's mostly mix!! Great cake - thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley Turner
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This recipe is perfect for the ultimate chocolate lover. I made it exactly as the recipe said, but in a 9x13 pan and it turned out perfect. I baked it for about 50 minutes. About an hour after I took the cake out of the oven, I topped it with the Satiny Chocolate Glaze. The recipe for that can be found on this site. I doubled the Satiny Chocolate Glaze recipe, and it was perfect. If anyone gives this cake a bad rating, it's because they messed up, they don't really like chocolate in the first place, or they didn't exactly follow the recipe. Also, to prevent the chocolate chips from sinking to the bottom of the cake, I lightly coated them in flour before putting them in the mix. I'll be making this cake again, and again, and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Very good! Followed recipe and my family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 4,392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States