Too Much Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
DELIOUS, MY FAMILY CANNOT WAIT UNTIL I MAKE IT AGIAN
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Needed something to take to a dinner tonight so I decided on this cake. I used a chocolate fudge cake mix and I only had a 3.5 oz box of pudding, so I used that. I reduced the oil to 2/3 cup and to make up the rest of the liquid I threw in 1/3 cup of milk into which I dissolved a tablespoon of instant espresso. I used a cup of dark chocolate chips in the cake. I used milk chocolate chips with a bit of cream & vanilla to make a ganache to drizzle over the cake. My husband thinks all chocolate deserves pecans so on went the chopped pecans. This cake is AMAZING- it's moist, it's versatile, it's quick to make and best of all its soooooo yummy! I'm looking forward to trying variations but I'm pretty sure chocolate can't beat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Oh my goodness what a fabulous find! Super easy and super delicious! I made some macerated berries and fresh whipped cream to serve alongside (but sliced fresh berries alone would be fantastic too!). A big hit! Thanks for the recipe - a definite keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Since this is my third time making this cake in less than 2 months, I figured I owed it to the rest of you to write a review. This cake is utterly fantastic and so easy for when you just don't have time to make a whole cake from scratch. I have a husband and 4 boys who could not get enough! The first time I made it, it was for a potluck. My family was so disappointed that everyone else got to eat it, that I had to make another one just for them the following weekend. I used mini chocolate chips, as other reviewers recommended. I put about 3/4's of the bag in the batter. I generously coated the bottom of the bundt pan with butter, and have never had a problem with the cake sticking. After the cake was cooled, I drizzled it with the Chocolate Ganache recipe from this site, then sprinkled some of the leftover mini chocolate chips on top. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I rarely take the time to rate recipes, but I've been using this for years and it's ALWAYS a winner. Best results for the least amount of time/effort when you're in a crunch. I also use coffee for water and mini-chips, but I'm sure it's great as-is. I have made this as cupcakes (~30min) and mini cupcakes (~22mins), birthday cakes, mini-loaves, etc. Recipe doubles and triples wonderfully. Cream cheese icing works well if you want to decorate. The ONLY downside is I can't share the recipe--it would ruin my street cred to see boxed mix ingredients. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niblet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
One of the best cakes I've made yet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This recipe was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by valerieh5
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I found this recipe in December 2012. I've made it probably 10 times since. Everyone loves it. My sister likes it best with no glaze or frosting on it. I made it this past holiday season for our department Christmas party. I took canned dark chocolate frosting and heated some in the microwave to thin it down to a glaze consistency. Then drizzled on the cake and then sprinkled with mini-chocolate chips. It was a hit! Every recipe I've tried with allrecipes.com have been great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Fabulous, rich cake! BUT cake mixes are no longer 18+ ounces. In order to keep the correct consistency, I reduced the oil to 2/3 cup, reduced the water to 1/3 cup and took away one egg. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Excellent and easy cake that doesn't even need icing . I made it as cake and cupcakes. Going to try it with white chocolate chips and white cake mix and vanilla pudding for a white chocolate cake version:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sadie Van Roie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 4,466) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States