Too Much Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Robin Wolford
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
This is a very easy cake to make and it has been a huge hit. I have made 4 of these in 5 days if that tells you anything. The recipe can be altered to make it a little healthier, which I did on 2 of the cakes I made. I have even had a co worker tell me she would be happy to pay me to make her one. True to the name, it is very chocolatey. A cold glass of milk is all you need for this wonderful cake. It is definitely my favorite new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Wolford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
I've made this recipe twice and nobody knew I used a box cake for part of the recipe. I also used sugar free pudding and fat free sour cream, just to make it a little more healthy. And it's still very rich and chocolatey. I made it the first time for Christmas and my family loved it. Even my cousin who doesn't care for chocolate cake loved it. I'll be making this for Christmas from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domonique Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
Best cake I have ever made !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
I live at high altitude and followed advice to bake at 335 for 55 minutes. It was perfectly moist. Next, I made this dairy-free using Sour Supreme and Enjoy Life chips. Oh, and coffee instead of water. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
Loved it! But made the adjustment of using only 1/2 c oil and 1/2 c water. Don't worry it is plenty moist!! I also use Betty Crocker Chocolate Fudge cake mix instead of Devils food. DIVINE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Made this cake exactly to the recipe, only I used milk chocolate chips as well as the semi-sweet chocolate chips. It came out perfect, I was thrilled!! I used the Satiny chocolate glaze from this website & it went together great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by User
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
I made this and loved it I posted a pic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
I made this cake for a friend's birthday. She is all things chocolate. Used Ghirardelli semi-sweet dark chocolate chips. Cake turned out perfect. Took a little longer in the oven than I had expected. I also didn't let it cool for as long as recipe called for, but it came out of pan perfectly anyway. Served with Ben and Jerry's Chocolate Comfort. Was afraid it would be all too sweet but it wasn't. Very decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Thacker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Bastrop, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetT
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
This is an amazingly moist cake and all my family members ask me to make this for their birthdays. The only thing different I do is drizzle the top with milk chocolate and white chocolate and add chocolate dipped strawberries in the middle. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
This is my go to recipe for decorated cakes. I do reduce the oil to about 3/4 cup. Also makes great cupcakes but because of the high amount of oil it soaks through the papers. For cupcakes I use 1/2 cup oil, though one of these days I'm going to substitute it with applesauce and see what happens. I love to pair this with Georgetown Cupcakes buttercream recipe and add a bit of flavored creamer (Samoa GS Cookie is the best) for an amazing flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 4,561) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States