Too Much Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I don't even like chocolate cake and I liked this. Very rich, so next time I would try substituting more healthy ingredients into it but otherwise I followed the recipe exactly and it's great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Excellent cake. I used a chocolate fudge cake mix (that's what I had in the pantry) and mini chocolate chips. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyn Murphy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I didn't follow this recipe exactly. I had to make a few substitutions. Instead of sour cream, I used cream cheese. Instead of one large (6-8 serving) packet of chocolate pudding powder, I used 1 (4 serving) packet of Almond Joy pudding powder and 1 (4 serving)white chocolate pudding powder. The batter was very thick, but the cake came out great! It was very moist and delicious! I got lots of compliments! I served with strawberries and ice cream and no frosting. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warroad, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunniTX
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Very good. Used mini chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hob
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
This is an outstanding, quick cake recipe that requires no icing. I used chocolate fudge cake mix, reduced fat sour cream, sugar free butterscotch pudding mix and 1 c. Butterscotch chips. The cake turned out moist and decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I am not much of a chocolate cake fan, but even I have to say this cake is one of the best I've ever tasted. I've been making this a lot since I've found the recipe. It's rich and moist and very easy to make. I bake in small bundt pans, drizzle with chocolate ganache (overkill, I know) and use in my holiday goody bags as presents around Xmas. It's a hit every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maguie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Made this for my birthday, first bundt cake ever! It was excellent, and i followed the recipe with the exception of using olive oil (all i had on hand). Could not taste it.I also replaced the water with coffee as another reviewer suggested. Iced it with Satiny Chocolate Glaze and followed another reviewers suggestion to heat the butter and corn syrup first then add the chocolate chips, works fantastic, no microwaving needed. Garnished with local strawberries, now in season, which adds a fresh burst of flavour with such a rich cake. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I've made this cake several times now and have loved it every time. The first go-around was for my Dad who is a chocolate lover. He thought it was amazing and I agree. Moist, delicious, very chocolatey. I topped it with Chocolate Ganache (from this site as well). Excellent and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I make this exactly like the recipe, unless I use 2 9" round pans or make cupcakes, then I use frosting(I am going to try the Chocolate Glaze recipe from this website that some comments mention).I usually need to let it bake just a bit longer than the recipe says. I have also used this recipe and replaced it with white cake and vanilla pudding - also excellent. I get so many compliments from this recipe, I will probably never use a different recipe, not for chocolate or white cake anyway. My friends will say things like "Wow! That is the best chocolate cake I have ever had! You have to give me the recipe!" I just snicker because it is also so easy to make. I put a 9" layered cake in a cake box I bought at the store for a couple of dollars and my friends brother made a bet with her that I bought the cake from a bakery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
exchanged coffee for the water and used chocolate cake mix instead of devil's food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuAnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 4,375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States