Too Much Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I have made this cake a number of times. I usually substitute applesauce for the oil. I have also made it with white cake mix, vanilla pudding and white chocolate morsels. I prefer to use mini morsels as when I use the bigger chips they seem to sink to the bottom of the pan. I use this when I make layered birthday cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I have made this cake by request for many of my co workers birthdays. I use mini chocolate chips, coco powder to dust and milk and dark chocolate for the frosting. I melt it a little and do a base then a drizzle of the two for a nice presentation. thank you for a wonderful cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
As the name suggest, it was way too much chocolate for my taste. The kids noted it was also too sweet. One good thing about it is that it was a cinch to prepare especially if your are pressed for time and you need something for a potluck or party. Otherwise, I'll be sticking to the One Bowl Chocolate from this same site as my ultimate recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Made this as a sheet cake. It is so awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This is the best chocolate cake I have ever had. I make it in muffin form and chop up chocolate bars instead of chocolate chips. They never last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I have made this recipe several times and with variations. Just recently made with peanut butter chips for a friend that loves reese cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Super good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mario Bianco
Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Very good cake though I would prefer a completely "home made" recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I've made this recipe a zillion times and it is always a hit. I've done it as a bundt cake, as a layer cake and as cupcakes, sometimes with frosting, sometimes with a glaze, sometimes with a dusting of powdered sugar. I topped it with a chocolate almond frosting and won 2nd place at the TN state fair. In response to those who have complained that their's came out too dry or that baking it at 350 makes the outside "crunchy", I would strongly suggest that you make this cake at least a day before you plan to serve it. In fact, I don't even frost it until the next day. Once it has cooled I either wrap it in plastic or put it into a gallon size ZipLock bag to set overnight. Much like quick breads and muffins, it becomes more moist overtime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ethan Ash
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I baked it for 60 minutes. It may have just been my oven but at 50 minutes the had only tided but was still liquidly under the surface.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 4,379) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States