Too Much Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Kerichristine
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
My husband had the guys over for dinner and basketball. This was a hit. Cut the oil to 3/4. It was so moist and delish. One of the guys asked if I could give the recipe to his girl. Will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I made this cake for my beloved boyfriend who came home from a school trip no longer than an hour ago, and for my dad (who has a sweet tooth). I followed the cake recipe exactly... except for greasing the pan... I forgot to do that. But in the end, the boys loved it and the cake itself turned out perfect (the excess oil other reviewers mentioned was actually what saved the cake). So now I know that I don't need to grease the bundt pan if I use the amount of oil the recipe calls for. Now I have to pawn the rest of it off at school tomorrow because of the celiac in my family, and I'm sure the cake will be a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I never take the time to write any reviews, but this one is definitely work a review! This cake is absolutely DELICIOUS!!!! My husband isn't a chocolate fan and he has already ate half the pan. I didn't make any changes to the recipe aside from the fact that I used a regular glass cake pan because I didn't have a bundt pan. It took exactly 55 minutes to bake in a regular glass pan, but of course I checked it throughout just to make sure I wouldn't burn it. I topped it with the satin glaze also on this website and spread a cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips on top. ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS and by far the best chocolate cake I've ever had; especially with some vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Wife loved it, friends loved it, cooked it exactly like it asked, very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Great recipe. I made it plain and it was still rich and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carianna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Adrianne
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Best chocolate cake EVER!!! I used Baker's Dipping Chocolate & powdered sugar as my topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I've made this recipe quite a few times and it was a hit every time! No need to alter the recipe. It is moist and delicious. The last time I made it, I added peanut butter chocolate chips and used peanut butter icing. It also goes really well with President's Choice cookies and cream ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I made this cake as written with ONE exception. I used strong coffee instead of water. AAAAMAZING!!!!! I was concerned with the amount of oil but it was sooo moist and delicious. I think 3/4c oil would be enough tho. I hand mixed until blended added the mini semi sweet chips and baked for 50 mins. I topped it with the chocolate ganache on this site. YUM!!!!! My new go to recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Thank you Denise for this awesome, easy recipe! I made two bundt cakes using this recipe for my daughter's third birthday, cutting and shaping the cakes into the number three. It turned out fabulous! I will say though, I used store bought icing to save time to top it, and I actually think the cake tastes much better without any icing at all (or probably with higher quality icing or just a dusting of powdered sugar). I did make a couple slight changes, I only used 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce, and I decreased the chocolate chips to around 1 to 1 1/4 cups of mini chips. This will be my go to cake recipe from now on, and it helped my first attempt at baking my children's birthday cakes a huge success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This cake is amazing! I live in Denver, so it's very hard to bake here and have it not be dry. Not a problem with this recipe- it comes out perfect EVERY time!! I make my husband take the majority of it to work (b/c I shouldn't be eating half a cake) and one of his employees who is getting married asked me to make this for her wedding cake. It's one of the best cakes I've ever eaten. If you follow the recipe exactly you will NOT regret making this. I had a little problem making a cake with the cake mix as the base, but decided after eating it that I no longer care because it's so good. I drizzle it with the Chocolate Ganache recipe from this site and it's amazing. Two quick tips; 1. Use mini choc. chips (Ghiradelli works well), they melt better. 2. This recipe, as it states pretty clearly- is very chocolately. Some reviewers have complained about too much chocolate. That's literally in the name of the recipe- why would you be surprised by how chocolately it tastes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 4,405) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States