Too Much Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
OMG this is awesome. I baked it for work and everyone asked me for the recipe. I only had a little bit left to bring home and the kids are begging me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I've yet to make this in a Bundt pan but this is my go-to recipe for sheet cake, cupcakes, etc. The chocolate chips make the cake denser so I usually leave them out. My favorite is vanilla cake with vanilla pudding. I bake it in a jelly roll pan (25 minutes) and use a biscuit cutter to make little mini cakes. I use pie filling between layers and top it with whipped cream. I did little mason jar desserts at work and they were a HUGE hit. Trust your nose when baking. Generally, when you start to smell whatever you are baking then it's either done or close to being done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jtaliaferro
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I changed nothing! Made everything exact and it's to die for! Topped with a chocolate almond frosting, drizzled with chocolate ganache and sprinkled mini choc chips on top! But it could have stood on its own with nothing on top! Made for a choc-a-holic and she called it the best chocolate cake she's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
This is the best bundt cake known to any man, woman or child. You can use any combo of pudding mix and cake and it turns out great. As others mentioned using stalling chocolate chips is best. You will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I made this for some chocolate lovers and they ate all of it! Batter was very thick so I got worried that I messed up the recipe and double checked everything I did, but it was right. Came out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I used 3/4 c. oil and 3/4 c. water along with an extra 1/2 cup white sugar. Delicious.Used mini chips also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
A sure fired way to cure and chocolate craving. Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy Desfosses-Gast

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klemme, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
This is my "go to" chocolate cake recipe. I have made it more than 2 dozen times as written.... this is the cake my family (kids, parents, husband, in-laws, friends) want for their birthday. No more store bought cakes for us. This feels special and is SO delicious with chocolate ganache on top. (Melt choc. chips, add cream, a touch of vanilla...stir unit smooth and then pour over cake). I usually use my bundt pan. I usually make homemade vanilla bean ice cream to go with it. Today I am trying rounds, for a tall multi-layer cake for my daughters birthday. I used to be a "bake from scratch" baker.... or buy it from the store, but this recipe has made making an impressive dessert easy and fast.... and has changed my mind about using cake mixes as a base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sal Gal
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
The mother of all chocolate cakes! Used 3/4 c. Oil and 1/4 c. Kahlua. Also added 1 T. Espresso powder. Otherwise followed recipe. Took one reviewer's advice and glazed with 1 c. Heavy cream heated with 1c. Chocolate chips til smooth. Cool and drizzle away. I call this "Death by Chocolate Cake."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I couldn't find an 18.25oz box of devils food cake mix and used the 15.25oz box. I even accidentally dumped in 1 cup of water instead of 1/2 cup. Despite those two mistakes, the cake turned out amazing. I'm a guy and don't bake and even I was able to make a crowd pleasing cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clint P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 4,375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States