Too Much Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
As the name suggest, it was way too much chocolate for my taste. The kids noted it was also too sweet. One good thing about it is that it was a cinch to prepare especially if your are pressed for time and you need something for a potluck or party. Otherwise, I'll be sticking to the One Bowl Chocolate from this same site as my ultimate recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Made this as a sheet cake. It is so awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This is the best chocolate cake I have ever had. I make it in muffin form and chop up chocolate bars instead of chocolate chips. They never last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
I have made this recipe several times and with variations. Just recently made with peanut butter chips for a friend that loves reese cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Super good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mario Bianco
Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Very good cake though I would prefer a completely "home made" recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I've made this recipe a zillion times and it is always a hit. I've done it as a bundt cake, as a layer cake and as cupcakes, sometimes with frosting, sometimes with a glaze, sometimes with a dusting of powdered sugar. I topped it with a chocolate almond frosting and won 2nd place at the TN state fair. In response to those who have complained that their's came out too dry or that baking it at 350 makes the outside "crunchy", I would strongly suggest that you make this cake at least a day before you plan to serve it. In fact, I don't even frost it until the next day. Once it has cooled I either wrap it in plastic or put it into a gallon size ZipLock bag to set overnight. Much like quick breads and muffins, it becomes more moist overtime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ethan Ash
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I baked it for 60 minutes. It may have just been my oven but at 50 minutes the had only tided but was still liquidly under the surface.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
This recipe kind of sounds like a heart attack on a stick....How about substituting the oil for applesauce that makes it moist as well. Will try it like that...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I just made this-according to directions- even though the 2c chocolate chips seemed like too much and I could find a 15.25oz box of cake. This was so unbelievably easy! With the amount of oil it did not stick to the bowl and poured very easily into the pam-sprayed bunt pan. Baked about 45 min. Couple hours later it slipped easily out of the pan onto a plate and I dusted with powdered sugar. Looked great! A+ for ease! I brought this into work and I think everyone had a slice. People said it was good, but no one really raved about it, or asked for the recipe, like they do when they love it. I personally thought it was too rich. I won’t make again. I would rather have just a lighter plain devil’s food cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 4,407) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States