Too Much Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I have been using this recipe for years and find it works best as cupcakes with a PB vanilla icing. This is often requested as its a huge hit at bake sales and for my decorated cakes n cupcakes. No need to doctor this recipe, don't try changing flavored of cake mix or chips cuz it's just not as good then. Cheap knock of brands do work and are good, but nothing beats Duncan Heinz n nestle chips (reg or mini, both are great). When u did my brothers wedding cake this cleared before the WASC and lemon pound (old family recipe n the bomb lol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Artemas, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
So moist and yummy! The best cake ever. I've adapted it to other flavours (vanilla, banana...) and always turns out delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Simple enough for kids to make and it is so moist and delicious. I followed the recipe to a "T" and it was amazing, but now I've turned this into my rum cake. Instead of adding water, I add rum. Makes a great holiday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2013
Easy and very chocolatley. I have made as a cake and cupcakes, comes out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
My husband and I loved this cake! Made no changes to the recipe. I do recommend that you watch the cake the last 10 min, as the sides started getting crispy pretty quick. Overall was a wonderful recipe. I was very surprised by the easiness of it. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Good, but nothing outstanding. ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I made this cake for a family get together and topped it with the satiny chocolate glaze (as recommended by many reviewers), and I thought it turned out great. It did not taste "chemically" at all like some of the negative reviews have stated, but be warned that this cake is EXTREMELY rich. This is not a problem for me because I love chocolate, but it did receive mixed reviews. A lot of people said it was "too sweet." I give this recipe 4 stars because it is a delicious chocolate cake, but not everyone who tried it agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenp886

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
This is the best "doctored cake mix" recipe I have found yet. I use mini chocolate chips and ad a dark & white chocolate ganace to top it. ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Very chocolaty satisfied the craving but overall just average. Was disappointed in the texture, expected it to be moister. Was relatively expensive to make ($8.00 plus $4.00 for choc ganache). I have chocolate cake recipes I like better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Delicious cake. I used cream cheese icing which made it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 4,309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States