Too Much Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This recipe has many names. I first made in the 80's, was listed in our church's annual recipe book. It was called "Soul Food Chocolate Cake". Over the years I've tweaked. At the holidays, I put in crushed candy canes along with the chocolate chips and peppermint oil. Another variation is adding cranberries. There's enough sugar so that the cranberries are just sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
As someone who doesn't enjoy cake very much, I'm really impressed by this recipe! I do substitute the sour cream with vanilla Greek yogurt. Same effect, and it adds a little something extra, I think. I really like that it's a dense, heavy cake. Everyone loves this recipe; it's my total go-to. I tend to make things from scratch, but this is the best I've ever made. Winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k.mckinley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rossville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Good chocolate cake. Nothing too fancy, but cake is moist and airy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
First attempt at a bundt cake. Added 1/4 cup flour to the recipe for altitude adjustment. Also added a chocolate ganache on top. I have to say, this was the most moist and amazing cake I've ever baked. I brought it to a Thanksgiving dinner party and it was a smash success. People kept nibbling on it and it was half gone before the dinner began.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I have made this recipe twice and I love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I made this yesterday, I normally don't use packaged products and this recipe is why. It was just OK. I followed the recipe exactly. I did not like the texture of this cake. I watched the time very carefully because over baking a cake will always result in dryness, and I thought this cake was dry, strange color too. Not a rich, dark chocolate like I was expecting. Will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This cake is delicious. I make it with only one cup of chocolate chips and ship it to my son in college. It holds up well during shipping and has become an exam week standard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Best chocolate bundt cake I have ever made. Very moist, couldn't stop eating it. I used 1/2 cup warm strong coffee instead of water. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I make this cake all the time for birthdays or special occasions. It is my go to recipe for chocolate cake. It never fails me and it never gets old hearing, "Man, this is good chocolate cake!" after people take their first couple bites. I usually top it with coconut pecan frosting, the kind used for german chocolate cake. At first I made it exactly as the recipe says. Now I make it with 1 cup unsweetened applesauce instead of oil and only use 1 cup of chocolate chips like others suggested. Reduces the calories substantially. 1 cup of oil is 1984 calories and 224 grams of fat. 1 cup of unsweetened applesauce is 100 calories and 0 grams of fat. That means I've eliminated 1884 calories and 224 grams of fat from the entire cake and I swear, I cannot taste the difference between the two. My father and brother did not notice the difference either when I fed them the applesauce version for the first time on their birthdays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Amazing. Made just as written and it was moist and rich and fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 4,365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States