Too Much Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I've made this recipe quite a few times and it was a hit every time! No need to alter the recipe. It is moist and delicious. The last time I made it, I added peanut butter chocolate chips and used peanut butter icing. It also goes really well with President's Choice cookies and cream ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I made this cake as written with ONE exception. I used strong coffee instead of water. AAAAMAZING!!!!! I was concerned with the amount of oil but it was sooo moist and delicious. I think 3/4c oil would be enough tho. I hand mixed until blended added the mini semi sweet chips and baked for 50 mins. I topped it with the chocolate ganache on this site. YUM!!!!! My new go to recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Thank you Denise for this awesome, easy recipe! I made two bundt cakes using this recipe for my daughter's third birthday, cutting and shaping the cakes into the number three. It turned out fabulous! I will say though, I used store bought icing to save time to top it, and I actually think the cake tastes much better without any icing at all (or probably with higher quality icing or just a dusting of powdered sugar). I did make a couple slight changes, I only used 1/2 cup oil and 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce, and I decreased the chocolate chips to around 1 to 1 1/4 cups of mini chips. This will be my go to cake recipe from now on, and it helped my first attempt at baking my children's birthday cakes a huge success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This cake is amazing! I live in Denver, so it's very hard to bake here and have it not be dry. Not a problem with this recipe- it comes out perfect EVERY time!! I make my husband take the majority of it to work (b/c I shouldn't be eating half a cake) and one of his employees who is getting married asked me to make this for her wedding cake. It's one of the best cakes I've ever eaten. If you follow the recipe exactly you will NOT regret making this. I had a little problem making a cake with the cake mix as the base, but decided after eating it that I no longer care because it's so good. I drizzle it with the Chocolate Ganache recipe from this site and it's amazing. Two quick tips; 1. Use mini choc. chips (Ghiradelli works well), they melt better. 2. This recipe, as it states pretty clearly- is very chocolately. Some reviewers have complained about too much chocolate. That's literally in the name of the recipe- why would you be surprised by how chocolately it tastes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I love this cake. I always make it in a 9x13 pan, but when I want chocolate I want this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ak baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I originally made this for some friends but after we did some yard work we came back VERY HUNGRY and attacked this cake. We EACH wolfed down 2 slices along w/ice cream. I used a bundt pan & followed the recipe. The flavor is very good & it's moist. For the frosting I heated up prepared frosting & drizzled it over to cover any boo boos then added some more. This is quick & a keeper. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bwrightwoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
My go to chocolate cake recipes. Always a hit ans super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
sooooo chocolatey and gooey but oh so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
20 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Been using this recipe for years with one tiny change: milk instead of water. I always get raves for it and I thought it was funny to find the same cake recipe on here. Give it a shot! You'll love it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 4,439) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States