Too Much Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Since this is my third time making this cake in less than 2 months, I figured I owed it to the rest of you to write a review. This cake is utterly fantastic and so easy for when you just don't have time to make a whole cake from scratch. I have a husband and 4 boys who could not get enough! The first time I made it, it was for a potluck. My family was so disappointed that everyone else got to eat it, that I had to make another one just for them the following weekend. I used mini chocolate chips, as other reviewers recommended. I put about 3/4's of the bag in the batter. I generously coated the bottom of the bundt pan with butter, and have never had a problem with the cake sticking. After the cake was cooled, I drizzled it with the Chocolate Ganache recipe from this site, then sprinkled some of the leftover mini chocolate chips on top. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I rarely take the time to rate recipes, but I've been using this for years and it's ALWAYS a winner. Best results for the least amount of time/effort when you're in a crunch. I also use coffee for water and mini-chips, but I'm sure it's great as-is. I have made this as cupcakes (~30min) and mini cupcakes (~22mins), birthday cakes, mini-loaves, etc. Recipe doubles and triples wonderfully. Cream cheese icing works well if you want to decorate. The ONLY downside is I can't share the recipe--it would ruin my street cred to see boxed mix ingredients. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niblet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
One of the best cakes I've made yet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This recipe was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by valerieh5
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I found this recipe in December 2012. I've made it probably 10 times since. Everyone loves it. My sister likes it best with no glaze or frosting on it. I made it this past holiday season for our department Christmas party. I took canned dark chocolate frosting and heated some in the microwave to thin it down to a glaze consistency. Then drizzled on the cake and then sprinkled with mini-chocolate chips. It was a hit! Every recipe I've tried with allrecipes.com have been great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Fabulous, rich cake! BUT cake mixes are no longer 18+ ounces. In order to keep the correct consistency, I reduced the oil to 2/3 cup, reduced the water to 1/3 cup and took away one egg. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Excellent and easy cake that doesn't even need icing . I made it as cake and cupcakes. Going to try it with white chocolate chips and white cake mix and vanilla pudding for a white chocolate cake version:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sadie Van Roie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lvdmarilyn
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Came out very delicious! Super moist everybody loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Followed the recipe exactly and was disappointed. It was ok but not off the wall great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Love this!! I've made it twice. 1st exactly how the recipe calls. I didn't find it super chocolatey (but I'm not personally a fan of devils food cake flavor) . The 2nd time I used dark choc fudge cake mix instead. It. Was. awesome. Probably could go about 47-48 mins instead of 50. But I always under cook my cakes for moistness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 4,575) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States