Tony's Summer Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I used bocconcini (little fresh mozzarella balls) instead of the shredded mozzarella and red-ripe Roma tomatoes, seeded and chopped. I skipped the garlic salt - totally unnecssary. To avoid a strong taste of raw garlic I mixed the minced garlic with a little salt, then used the flat side of my chef's knife to mash it into a paste. I added all ingredients to taste rather than measuring. A plate of this and I'm happy. Very happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
This was dinner for us last night. I used whole wheat pasta, cut down the mozzerella cheese in half and cut the EVOO WAY down to a 1/4 c., if that. I also used fresh garlic. My boys seemed to like this but my husband thought it would have been better with a mixture of parmesan and mozzerella. Good base recipe to tweak any way you like to make it suit your family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Simple, delicious - and not just for summer! Although, I'll definitely remember this for summer when garden ripe tomatoes are in season. I subbed penne pasta for the linguini and opted to use fresh mozzarella that I sliced and chopped vs. shredded. I also used regular salt vs. garlic salt. This is a great side dish for any meal or you could make this a meal in and of itself it's so good. Next time I might add a splash of balsamic vinegar or a bit of crushed red pepper flakes for a little pizzaz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
I was really excited about this recipe and followed it exactly except I added 1/4 lb of prosciutto. However the garlic really overpowered the taste from the tomatoes and the basil. We love garlic, but it is very powerful raw. I would decrease the amount of garlic if I were to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
This recipe is fantastic! I served Tony's Summer Pasta for a family dinner party and everyone wanted me to email the recipe to them. Someone even suggested you could try feta cheese instead of the mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2000
Basically a good recipe idea, but I would make the following changes: double the tomatoes & basil 4 cloves (instead of 6) of garlic cut the cheese in half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
very good and full of flavor. in order to cut down on the calories, i left the cheese out of the recipe completely and added a few more veggies to the marinade. i put some grated parmesan on the table when i served it so people could add a little parmesan to the top if they wished, but no one really missed it. it was a huge hit. i was able to serve this again cold as a nice summer pasta salad using bite-sized pasta instead of the pasta strands. fresh lemon is great in this dish as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Try this with brie cheese instead of the mozzarella. Cut rind off first, and tear or cut into small chunks. It's the BEST! I've had this recipe for 20 years, and make it every summer with fresh tomatoes and basil from my garden. The brie is a must-try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly. I used 6 cloves of garlic as called for in the recipe. I used fresh garlic (the kind you peel and then mince the cloves). I love garlic but this pasta had incredibly too much garlic!! Maybe it was using the fresh garlic that made it over potent. My husband and I both could not finish our serving due to the overpowering garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Fresh and Delicious, not to mention super quick and easy to prepare. My fiance loved this recipe. I halved everything and it was more than enough for two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt and Molly

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Angel’s Pasta

Fresh veggies and pasta make a great dinner in under 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States