Tony's Summer Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I thought this was absolutely wonderful as is when I tasted !Second time, To add a little more flavor and make a tad healther,I did cut the oil to 1/3 cup,added 1/2 cup red onion,and cut the mozz., to 8 ounces.I also used 3/4 tsp no salt with 1/4 teaspoon half salt.sauteed garlic and onion very lightly in the oil,made garlic less potent.also used dried basil instead of fresh - 1 tbls.,(didn't have fresh) This made it wow with very subtle changes. Will make this again and again ! thankyou for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Great recipe, lends itself to modifications as needed. Easy to prep as a side to a main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This was wonderful! I have now made this recipe 3 times in two weeks. I did follow the recipe only using a 1/3 cup fresh basil that's all I had on hand the 1st time. It was delightful and refreshing. So I have keep it that way. 2nd time, my husband requested me to make it again with the addition of shrimp and olives. It turned in to the whole meal with the additions and some Garlic French bread. The unexpected guests of the evening and hubby loved it. I can't tell you if it was good with the Shrimp or not I'm allergic so I'll have to take there word for it. But, the olives were yummy. 3rd time I made it I keep the olives and added seasoned and slice chicken breast. It was absolutely delish. This is a keeper. Thank You! Everyone here enjoyed appreciated the new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This was the perfect summer dish. I only made half the recipe and substituted halved grape tomatoes for the plum tomatoes. I also had some extra chicken from the "Easy Chicken Gyro" recipe on this site that I shredded and tossed in. I only added two cloves of minced garlic (for the half recipe) because of the power of raw garlic and because the chicken I tossed in was already heavily seasoned. On the side I made some yummy pita toast: --Slice desired number of pitas in half (yielding one layer of pita). --Spread pitas on a foil covered baking sheet. --Brush pitas with olive oil. --Sprinkle pitas with ground black pepper, ground dried parsley, and parmesan cheese. --Bake in the oven at 350 for 10 minutes or until crispy. Thanks Tony and all for the suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Delicious meal for the summer, but I have to agree with most of the other modifications. My hubby and I really cut back on the amount of garlic and cheese in this recipe or it would be overwhelming. We also prefer grape tomatoes as someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
i didn't have mozz in the house so i used romano. i also used stewed tomatoes from a can. it turned out pretty well considering... lol :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Just had this for dinner... OH MY! It was DELICIOUS!!!!!! I followed suggestions by other people... I cut the olive oil to 1/4c, used fresh mozzerella, made a garlic paste with salt and did not use the garlic salt. And I sprinkled some fresh parm on top. It was absolutely wonderful! I think this will be going into high rotation for dinner! I think I may try it as a cold pasta salad too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I made this tonight, for the first time. I added chicken breast strips to it and it was veeeery tasty! I also added some oregano to it. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sinny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Imperial Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Simple, delicious - and not just for summer! Although, I'll definitely remember this for summer when garden ripe tomatoes are in season. I subbed penne pasta for the linguini and opted to use fresh mozzarella that I sliced and chopped vs. shredded. I also used regular salt vs. garlic salt. This is a great side dish for any meal or you could make this a meal in and of itself it's so good. Next time I might add a splash of balsamic vinegar or a bit of crushed red pepper flakes for a little pizzaz!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I won't be making this again. I double checked and di indeed follow the recipe correctly. It was bland, naked noodles with some melted chunks of mozzerlla throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Angel’s Pasta

Fresh veggies and pasta make a great dinner in under 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States