Tony's Summer Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Love this pasta! This is definitely a comfort food for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Caldwell, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I LOVE this recipe!!! I serve it exactly as it is written and for dinner I serve it with the warm pasta and for a summer brunch I served it with cold tortelini or rotini pasta and added sliced cucumber (seeds removed)! Everyone loved it. Good job Tony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cuernavaca, Morelos, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Waaay too garlicky and cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
First of all, can't beat how easy and quick this is. After reading the reviews, I decided that I wanted to pre-warm the tomato mixture a bit so that it did not cool down the pasta too much. So rather than setting up the tomatoes, basil, etc in a bowl, I put it all in a pan, set on an extremly low simmer. More importantly for a recipe review - the taste. My son who is not usually a fan of anything with fresh tomatoes commented on how tasty the combination is. I had not doubted that all along - fresh tomato and basil is heaven to me - but the fact that it won him over was definitely a breakthrough. My husband commented that he would be happy to have pasta this way all year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I thought this was absolutely wonderful as is when I tasted !Second time, To add a little more flavor and make a tad healther,I did cut the oil to 1/3 cup,added 1/2 cup red onion,and cut the mozz., to 8 ounces.I also used 3/4 tsp no salt with 1/4 teaspoon half salt.sauteed garlic and onion very lightly in the oil,made garlic less potent.also used dried basil instead of fresh - 1 tbls.,(didn't have fresh) This made it wow with very subtle changes. Will make this again and again ! thankyou for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Great recipe, lends itself to modifications as needed. Easy to prep as a side to a main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This was wonderful! I have now made this recipe 3 times in two weeks. I did follow the recipe only using a 1/3 cup fresh basil that's all I had on hand the 1st time. It was delightful and refreshing. So I have keep it that way. 2nd time, my husband requested me to make it again with the addition of shrimp and olives. It turned in to the whole meal with the additions and some Garlic French bread. The unexpected guests of the evening and hubby loved it. I can't tell you if it was good with the Shrimp or not I'm allergic so I'll have to take there word for it. But, the olives were yummy. 3rd time I made it I keep the olives and added seasoned and slice chicken breast. It was absolutely delish. This is a keeper. Thank You! Everyone here enjoyed appreciated the new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This was the perfect summer dish. I only made half the recipe and substituted halved grape tomatoes for the plum tomatoes. I also had some extra chicken from the "Easy Chicken Gyro" recipe on this site that I shredded and tossed in. I only added two cloves of minced garlic (for the half recipe) because of the power of raw garlic and because the chicken I tossed in was already heavily seasoned. On the side I made some yummy pita toast: --Slice desired number of pitas in half (yielding one layer of pita). --Spread pitas on a foil covered baking sheet. --Brush pitas with olive oil. --Sprinkle pitas with ground black pepper, ground dried parsley, and parmesan cheese. --Bake in the oven at 350 for 10 minutes or until crispy. Thanks Tony and all for the suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Delicious meal for the summer, but I have to agree with most of the other modifications. My hubby and I really cut back on the amount of garlic and cheese in this recipe or it would be overwhelming. We also prefer grape tomatoes as someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
i didn't have mozz in the house so i used romano. i also used stewed tomatoes from a can. it turned out pretty well considering... lol :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cajun Pasta Fresca

See how to make a spicy vegetarian pasta with lots of Cajun seasoning.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Angel’s Pasta

Fresh veggies and pasta make a great dinner in under 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States