Tonya's Terrific Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
This was so good! I only used one pound of meat and kept everything else the same. The perfect amount of tang and sweet. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I have a small family so made less, and I use extra lean ground beef so there's no grease to drain. Browned the celery and a few chopped mushrooms before adding the meat; also added some minced garlic and onion flakes--since I was out of onions--and a couple shakes of celery seed. Used pickle juice as someone had suggested, and a touch of BBQ sauce at the end to make it a little more saucy. Toasted the buns--we all thought it was great. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
This exact same recipe came from a famous "Southern" cookbook. I have been making it for over 3o years. It can be a little sweet so I cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Reminded me of the Sloppy Joes my mom would always make from the leftovers in catsup bottles. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Good, but ordinary, try substituting your favorite bottled barbeque sauce for added spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I've been using this recipe for 40 years. It's the best. The only thing I add extra is a 1/2 tsp of garlic salt and some paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I add 1/2 cup of water to the mix. I have made this for at least 30 years and still haven't found anything better. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I made this and found it to be delicious and quick. I always put cheese on the bun,then top with the meat. I'm a 'big hit' again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Being a Sloppy Joe Fan!!! Ive tried a number of recipes....and would like to suggest using Tomato based chili sauce ...instead of ketchup, or 1/2 and 1/2. I believe it makes a tastier Joe, and a bit more like the original recipe. Overall...very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Good recipe, made better by using Heinz Chili Sauce, which is less sweet than ketchup and has more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruce K. Dixon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States