Tonya's Terrific Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I made this recipe for the first time today. Very good with the substitutions I made. I used about a 2/3 cup of ketchup (I put this in a 3/4 cup measuring cup)and finished filling the cup up with (Aldi's brand) hickory brown sugar barbecue sauce. I left out the brown sugar the recipe called for. I didn't have a full 2 lbs. of ground beef so I tweeked the remainder of ingredients for slightly less meat. 1 tsp. Worchestershire sauce, 1/2 t. vinegar, big pinch of dried mustard powder, and 1/4 t. lemon juice. I didn't drain the grease off the meat mixture but after simmering the full time required, the grease was less. Was very good everyone said. I agree. Susan P.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Yummy!! Definitely making this again. Better than store bought by far!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
MANWITCH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Good, basic recipe. I tweak it a bit by substituting chopped green pepper for the celery, adding cayenne pepper or hot sauce, and a couple of dashes of garlic powder. Using half ketchup and half bottled barbeque sauce gives it a more robust flavor, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Almost perfect ! My whole church loves this recipe we cook it every year at picnics with just a touch more vinegar, maybe 1 tablespoon - 1/4 cup. Thanks. Sometimes kids dislike Worcestershire sauce, so leave it out. Anyone who says it isn't great either cooked all the flavor out or has picky kids !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Wow - wonderful recipe! Added a tad of barbecue sauce and a tad extra of the other ingredients. Delicious on a nice summer day in Minnesota. Thank you RetiredDad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
This was so easy and quick and tasty! Left out the celery and increased the onions. Forgot to put in the brown sugar and lemon juice but was still enjoyed by all, and will have it again the way I made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
This recipe has been our family sloppy joe recipe for at least 40 years. Have had many many requests for the recipe. You can include green pepper if you wish, but I am allergic so have always left it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waldo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Haven't tried the recipe yet but wanted to leave my own hint for great sloppy joe eating -- use hot dog buns instead of the traditional burger buns. So much easier to eat, all the joe stays in the bun and we top it off with a sprinkle of shredded cheddar and a spoonful of dill relish for even more fun and deliciousness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karmakamedian

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I've made this recipe about 5 times. I've never used celery since we don't eat much of it. There's times when I'm out of fresh onion and used dried, and both turned out fine. Other times I may add diced bell peppers. The first time I made it, it was ok, a little dry but adding 1/3 cup of bbq sauce made a huge difference. It gave it a nice kick and sweetness to it. I don't leave it out when I make this. We like our sloppy joes sloppy and so I make a little bit more sauce. Everytime I make this, my hubby says it's a lot better than the canned or powdered sloppy joe sauces. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States