Tonya's Terrific Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
awesome stuff!!!! tastes really close to Manwich if you use Heinze Kat sup and Frenches yellow mustard !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I have four sloppy joe recipes and I think this is the best one. My family really liked it! I made it according to the recipe except I added some chopped green pepper and a few drops of Tabasco. Browned the hamburg and then put all inbred. In a crock pot on low. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
These were great. Hubby liked them. Daughter liked them. They ate all the meat so I made it again and it was gone just as fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Great spices! I too added a can of tomato sauce to make it 'sloppier' and increased the spices. I also added garlic powder and pepper then put it all into a crock pot on high for about three hours. The flavor was wonderful and the house smelled delicious. Everyone, even my pickiest child, ate and enjoyed this recipe. Thanks for a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I was looking for a quick and easy summertime lunch; this recipe was exactly what I wanted. I'll never go back to canned Sloppy Joe sauce! I followed the recipe as written, but ran into a slight glitch. I didn't seem to have enough sauce for the meat, so I squirted in some barbecue sauce to help stretch it. Overall, I was pleased with this recipe and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This was easy and very tasty. I liked knowing what I put in the sauce. Nothing artificial unless the ketchup has artificial ingredients. This is in my recipe box now!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
These are my family favorite!!!! My husband has never had home made sloppy joes before. He can't believe what he has been missing out on all these years!!! Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rose Hill, Kansas, USA
Living In: Hinckley, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
We really liked the flavor of this recipe. I followed what some other reviewers suggested: added bell pepper and bar-b-q sauce. I also agreed that it was dry as originally written. I ended up with only 1 pound of hamburger and kept all the other original quantities of ingredients. The sauce was thick already so only needed to heat it through. Great on toasted hamburger buns!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I made this last night, it's a good basic recipe. I used 85/15 ground beef and added 1 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp black pepper, 1 tsp dried dill weed and upped the vinegar from 1 tsp to 1 Tb. We'll have it again for dinner tonight and then tomorrow use the rest up on pasta. Sloppy Joe mixture over pasta is always a hearty comforting winner dinner for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I made this recipe for the first time today. Very good with the substitutions I made. I used about a 2/3 cup of ketchup (I put this in a 3/4 cup measuring cup)and finished filling the cup up with (Aldi's brand) hickory brown sugar barbecue sauce. I left out the brown sugar the recipe called for. I didn't have a full 2 lbs. of ground beef so I tweeked the remainder of ingredients for slightly less meat. 1 tsp. Worchestershire sauce, 1/2 t. vinegar, big pinch of dried mustard powder, and 1/4 t. lemon juice. I didn't drain the grease off the meat mixture but after simmering the full time required, the grease was less. Was very good everyone said. I agree. Susan P.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States