Tonya's Terrific Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Excellent! Everyone raved. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
This pleasantly surprised me! I love Sloppy Joe's, I like them flavorful but my recipe was beginning to seem a bit sweet to me and I liked the idea of the lemon juice and pickle juice (as some suggested). Some remarked it was dry, so I upped all the elements in the sauce and added about 1/2 cup or more of water to the sauce before adding to the meat. That blended nicely and allowed for a nice thick sauce after 20 minutes of simmering. I also used 1/2 Heinz Chili Sauce for ketchup. Thanks RetiredDad, sometimes the simplest things are the best and I would certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
This really is an excellent 'sloppy joe' recipe. When I was directing student council, we made this for the whole staff, and had several people asking for recipe. I've always thought vinegar is a secret ingredient in good sloppy joes. The only thing I did slightly different was chop the onion and celery in my Ninja so picky people wouldn't complain about big chunks of onion or celery. I also think letting it sit overnight and reheating it makes it still better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yote1963

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I made two different types of sloppy joes so we could have a taste test. This was my favorite of the two. Just the right amount of sauce and onions, and for us, the celery was a nice addition. Served it open faced with a baked potato. Thanks RetiredDad9877, for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Excellent! I did add a small (8oz) can of tomato sauce and used bell pepper instead of celery. I got requests to have it again soon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
My favorite, tastes like mom used to make and my grandkids love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
The texture is great but I have to admit I was disappointed with the overall flavor. Strange, because the ingredients looked like they would be the perfect combo; unfortunately, we found them bland. There is more flavor and spicing in a can of Manwich. That being said, this is easy to remedy by upping your own spicing or simply leaving as is for persnickety kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
These were better then any can mix you can find. My husband thought they were a little sweet, but my picky 5 year old ate them so that's all that matters. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 9260leanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
This was awesome! The meat came out so savory and it was very easy to make--I used regular mustard instead of the powder and it was still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
This recipe is fantastic such wonderful flavor I am making this tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States