Tonkatsu / Katsu Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Finally made this sauce and my husband and I loved it! Nice blend of not too sweet with some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Meriden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
We love this sauce! I added a little brown sugar to appease my husband, but we both agreed it didn't need it in the end. He wants me to try it as a beef or pork marinade also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Excellent. What I like about this sauce is exactly the thing a couple of people tweaked out - it's not sweet. Unsolicited, my 20yo said, "This sauce is incredibly good and spicy." Well said, I think. Thanks for the recipe! :) UPDATE: I don't make a lot of recipes more than once because I'm an adventurer, but I have visited this recipe a few times since I first made it. I made it again tonight for fish katsu and was out of garlic powder so I used fresh - still excellent. I've also used this sauce on steamed shrimp - makes an awesome cocktail sauce. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Tastes great! 1st Time I've had this with Katsu chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Mmmm...this was very good served it with pork tonkatsu and fried rice. Was perfect just as written. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennkl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Great sauce made it to go along with the Chicken Katsu recipe I tried from this site a couple of weeks ago. Now I can’t wait to make tonkatsu to use with it as well. Thanks for sharing the recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OStreetGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Liked this more than the sauce for "Ashley's Chicken Katsu with Tonkatsu Sauce." Also, I mixed this recipe (after tasting) with "Wasabi Mayonnaise Sauce" for a non-traditional creamy sauce. I thought the two worked well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Having never had chicken Katsu myself, i made this for my boyfriend who loves it. I made this sauce and also purchased a packaged sauce from the store for comparison. This recipe won, hands down!! the store bought sauce just tasted like ketchup and Worcestershire sauce and was runny. This one is spicy, and intense and flavorful! It does pack some kick so if you don't like the heat, maybe lessen the black pepper and mustard, but I wouldn't change a thing! I did use fresh garlic (about 3 cloves) instead of the powder, but other than that followed the recipe exactly. It does get hotter over time as well. I plan to bake some meatballs with this sauce for a spicy asian take on bbq meatballs...thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I've never had tonkatsu sauce so I wasn't sure what the expect. However my family enjoyed this along with chicken katsu. Great recipe for some really good sauce :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Delicious! Can't wait to make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Dijon Pan Sauce

See how to make a delicious mustard pan sauce for roasted pork tenderloin.

Easy Balsamic Black Butter Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a simple but impressive balsamic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States