Tonkatsu / Katsu Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Excellent. What I like about this sauce is exactly the thing a couple of people tweaked out - it's not sweet. Unsolicited, my 20yo said, "This sauce is incredibly good and spicy." Well said, I think. Thanks for the recipe! :) UPDATE: I don't make a lot of recipes more than once because I'm an adventurer, but I have visited this recipe a few times since I first made it. I made it again tonight for fish katsu and was out of garlic powder so I used fresh - still excellent. I've also used this sauce on steamed shrimp - makes an awesome cocktail sauce. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
My mother is from Tokushima, and the recipe she used when I was growing up was very similar to this one. Oftentimes, we just mixed ketchup and worchestershire sauce without adding anything else. Also goes great on things like croquette or okonomiyaki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Silverdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
It tastes like barbeque sauce...nothing special or exotic at all. Sorry, but this wasn't impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
my first review got deleted for whatever reason, but i gave this one star because it was terrible. didn't taste anything like tonkatsu sauce. it tasted like spicy ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by l337jacqui

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I made this tonight to go with fried calamari steaks and it was very good; I added about 1/4 cup chicken broth to make it less bold. I also used just 1/2 tsp of the spices and it was perfect for our taste... The hubby really liked it and I'm anxious to try it on other things like chicken. Thanks for the great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I made the sauce based on this recipe but added a little bit of sugar. It turned out very good tonkatsu sauce. My husband and son liked it with pork tonkatsu which I prepared using the receipe I found from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I eyeballed other ingredients which I believe is essential to Tonkatsu sauce. Measuring to taste: I added a few teaspoons of shoyu (soy sauce), 1-2 teaspoon of sugar, and about 1-2 tablespoons of applesauce. I cut down on the ketchup, about 1/2 cup and added more Worcestershire, about 1/4 cup or less. Over all, the sauce came to 1 cup for me. But the applesauce is important. Why? Because a lot of bottled tonkatsu sauces have fruit in it, like apple, dates, etc. Now, for a hint of spice, I add a light sprinkle of cinnamon. I used yours as a basis, but being that I eyeballed the rest, I can't really post up my own version. :) Remember, really good tonkatsu has some apple in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
This was pretty good! Makes quite a bit of sauce, so for the three of us I halved the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fujiko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I made half the recipe, and it was the perfect amount for us. I used slightly less pepper and used half garlic, half onion powders. The longer you let this sit the better it is. When I tried it right after mixing, the ketchup and pepper taste was overwhelming. After sitting in the fridge for a few hours the flavours mellowed out a bit and were more balanced. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Mmmm...this was very good served it with pork tonkatsu and fried rice. Was perfect just as written. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennkl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Dijon Pan Sauce

See how to make a delicious mustard pan sauce for roasted pork tenderloin.

Easy Balsamic Black Butter Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a simple but impressive balsamic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States