Tonkatsu / Katsu Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I like this. It is a bit different from the one my local hawaian grill makes, and I will keep tweaking until I get it closer. Theirs is a tad less "ketchupy" and looks darker. A different base maybe? Anyway - this is a good version and we will use it happily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I couldn't find Katsu sauce at the store so I decided to make this recipe, it is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Excellent. What I like about this sauce is exactly the thing a couple of people tweaked out - it's not sweet. Unsolicited, my 20yo said, "This sauce is incredibly good and spicy." Well said, I think. Thanks for the recipe! :) UPDATE: I don't make a lot of recipes more than once because I'm an adventurer, but I have visited this recipe a few times since I first made it. I made it again tonight for fish katsu and was out of garlic powder so I used fresh - still excellent. I've also used this sauce on steamed shrimp - makes an awesome cocktail sauce. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Mmmm...this was very good served it with pork tonkatsu and fried rice. Was perfect just as written. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennkl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Tastes great! 1st Time I've had this with Katsu chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Very good. For convenience, if you have a Japanese market by your house buy the ready made brand by Bulldog. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I made the sauce based on this recipe but added a little bit of sugar. It turned out very good tonkatsu sauce. My husband and son liked it with pork tonkatsu which I prepared using the receipe I found from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
It's not quite like the stuff you buy from the store, but it'll do. I added a little sugar to sweeten it up a little. Nice to find the recipe since I had made Japanese croquettes only to find I had only a little of the store bought tonkatsu sauce left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle S11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-68 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Dijon Pan Sauce

See how to make a delicious mustard pan sauce for roasted pork tenderloin.

Easy Balsamic Black Butter Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a simple but impressive balsamic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States