Tonkatsu / Katsu Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I like this. It is a bit different from the one my local hawaian grill makes, and I will keep tweaking until I get it closer. Theirs is a tad less "ketchupy" and looks darker. A different base maybe? Anyway - this is a good version and we will use it happily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I couldn't find Katsu sauce at the store so I decided to make this recipe, it is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Excellent. What I like about this sauce is exactly the thing a couple of people tweaked out - it's not sweet. Unsolicited, my 20yo said, "This sauce is incredibly good and spicy." Well said, I think. Thanks for the recipe! :) UPDATE: I don't make a lot of recipes more than once because I'm an adventurer, but I have visited this recipe a few times since I first made it. I made it again tonight for fish katsu and was out of garlic powder so I used fresh - still excellent. I've also used this sauce on steamed shrimp - makes an awesome cocktail sauce. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Mmmm...this was very good served it with pork tonkatsu and fried rice. Was perfect just as written. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennkl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Tastes great! 1st Time I've had this with Katsu chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Very good. For convenience, if you have a Japanese market by your house buy the ready made brand by Bulldog. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
I made the sauce based on this recipe but added a little bit of sugar. It turned out very good tonkatsu sauce. My husband and son liked it with pork tonkatsu which I prepared using the receipe I found from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
It's not quite like the stuff you buy from the store, but it'll do. I added a little sugar to sweeten it up a little. Nice to find the recipe since I had made Japanese croquettes only to find I had only a little of the store bought tonkatsu sauce left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle S11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-68 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Dijon Pan Sauce

See how to make a delicious mustard pan sauce for roasted pork tenderloin.

Easy Balsamic Black Butter Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a simple but impressive balsamic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States