Tonkatsu / Katsu Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
It was too thick, and to peppery, not what I've had at teriyaki joints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I really wanted to like this recipe. I just didn't. It didn't taste anything like katsu sauce. Totally dominated by the flavor of the ketchup. Texture was also really weird. Oh well, I'll just go back to buying Bulldog brand sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
We didn't care for this sauce at all. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Anderson-Gibson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
this is my go to sauce for Katsu. it's as close to what we get in Hawaii when making Chicken Katsu. you MUST let is sit. you CANNOT just serve it. i mean i guess you can but it won't taste right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
This sauce tasted primarily of Worcestershire sauce. Perhaps if you add the Worcestershire in increments, tasting as you go, you will find the right blend, but we thought it was just OK as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Hated this. Raymond said it was unedible...Bitter! Made exact to recipe. Upon further research for TONKATSU Sauce on the web, I have found some other recipes. They are completely different from this recipe and if I had done my search prior to serving this recipe, I would have definately done the other ones. This sounded 'off' but I trusted the other reviewers that said it was good. To each their own though. This just isn't for us. TONKATSU PORK CHOPS though were PERFECT. Good thing I served this sauce 'on the side'. (PS gave it 1 star only because you have to give one in order to rate recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I was looking for a sauce which would go with some panku chicken I'm making tomorrow, but I will add a chopped chilli in this sauce to spice it up a little. It sounds a nice recipe so will update after!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Delish! If you are searching for the perfect sauce to serve with tonkatsu / katsu, this is it!!! This was absolutely perfect and required no modifications on my part - just be sure to prepare this in advance so that all of the wonderful flavors have a chance to blend. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Soifua! My hubs and I loved it. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I followed this exactly, and wouldn't change a thing! I served it with tonkatsu, and it really made the dish! It is tangy and flavorful! I was remiss in telling my boyfriend that the sauce was meant to dip the pork in, so he used it on the pork, the potatoes AND the corn, and loved it on all! I will be making this often...the possibilities are endless as to what it will be good with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Personally, I thought it had a touch too much worcestershire, but my boyfriend's mom and grandma LOVED IT! So yummy with my chicken katsu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Dijon Pan Sauce

See how to make a delicious mustard pan sauce for roasted pork tenderloin.

Easy Balsamic Black Butter Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a simple but impressive balsamic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States