Tonkatsu - Asian-Style Pork Chop Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
this was my first recipe with Panko, will experiment some more with them. pork chops were good, but i needed to double the egg & crumbs to double dip 6 thin chops. i used white pepper & ginger powder in the egg. will certainly add more seasoning next time,since it needed more flavor. i served with fried rice & broccoli with asian sesame sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teaneck, New Jersey, USA
Living In: West Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
Just okay for us. Tasted like a regular pork chop. An oriental sauce of some type might help. Would probably not make again. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
Easy to make. Turned out nicely in a "Cool Daddy" fryer. I thought it was a little bland but family thought it was very tasty. I'd like to try the Panko on some other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by audlee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
This was good, but it didn't knock our socks off. FYI - The oil should be hot, but not REAL hot. You will never get these fried to "moist but done" if you have the oil too hot. A medium heat oil allowed the 4-5 minutes frying per side. Anything hotter got the Panko too brown, and the inside was still showing some pink (which is a no-no for pork).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dung Beetle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
A wonderful, easy recipe, yet special. I love another use for Panko crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimbrough (frog)

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
I did not follow this recipe to a T, but my family gobbled up every bite. I had 2 huge boneless, skinless pork chops (from Costco) that were about 1-1/2 inches thick, so I sliced them accordingly and that's what I used. I first dipped them in parmesan cheese, then egg and then the Panko. They turned out great and my son ate more than I expected. I made some tonkatsu sauce, which I did not care for. Would probably make this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
Mmmmmmmm! What a great recipe! Btw, I used garlic powder instead of garlic. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
I used tenderloin pork and I pounded the pork into a thinner cutlet and then did the coating. They were excellent. I plan on making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.M.Ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
These were just okay. I used chicken. It needs more spice and seasoning. Maybe some ginger or teriyaki. I may try it again with a different approach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States