Tonkatsu - Asian-Style Pork Chop Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I added an extra 1/2 tsp garlic to the egg mixture and used cayenne pepper instead of black. I first dipped the chops in plain flour, then the egg mixture and just one dip into the panko crumbs. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Palm City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
mmmm so crunchy ... but i'll add some seasoning salt next time for more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I don't know why I just didn't like this dish. It was simple and easy and deliciously crunchy and panko always cooks up beautifully but it needed more spice. If I make this again, I will add alot more garlic and extra spices to give the breading and meat more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Rogers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
These chops were juicy, crunchy and easy to make. I thought they had good flavor on their own - there's plenty of tasty stuff in the egg wash. I let them sit for 10 minutes as the author recommended - maybe that made the difference. And I took other reviewers' advice to make a tonkatsu sauce (kind of funny one wasn't included when you look at the name) for dipping. Found one on another site. Thanks for another staple pork chop recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe. Like a lot of the other reviews stated, the sauce makes the dish. I enjoyed the crunchiness of the pork chops. It reminded me of a Japanese restaurant I went to a few years back. I have been searching for that flavor for a while and I am glad that I found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PickyEater1080

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
It was good but adding garlic makes the mix really hard to stick to the meat, so I had to add 2 more eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This recipe is just okay. I loved the panko crumbs, but that doesn't make the taste. I used the Tonkatsu Sauce recipe aforementioned,and my husband LOVED the sauce. We just found that it was bland. If the recipe had included the sauce I would have given 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Finally I went & bought some panko crumbs to try this recipe. I am converted! They are so good!!! The panko crumb coating was lovely & crisp & light. However I thought the actual pork was rather bland. A sauce with this dish is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
My family's been making pork katsu as long as I can remember, so here's a tip since the recipe doesn't mention it: pound the meat! It makes all the difference in texture and tenderness. Serving tonkatsu sauce is a must as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFDOG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Very bland, need more spice or something. With tonkatsu sauce, it was ok but I won't try this one again, sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States