Tonkatsu - Asian-Style Pork Chop Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
This recipe is just okay. I loved the panko crumbs, but that doesn't make the taste. I used the Tonkatsu Sauce recipe aforementioned,and my husband LOVED the sauce. We just found that it was bland. If the recipe had included the sauce I would have given 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Finally I went & bought some panko crumbs to try this recipe. I am converted! They are so good!!! The panko crumb coating was lovely & crisp & light. However I thought the actual pork was rather bland. A sauce with this dish is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
My family's been making pork katsu as long as I can remember, so here's a tip since the recipe doesn't mention it: pound the meat! It makes all the difference in texture and tenderness. Serving tonkatsu sauce is a must as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFDOG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Very bland, need more spice or something. With tonkatsu sauce, it was ok but I won't try this one again, sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
The first time I made these chops they were okay, but with a couple of tweaks, these pork chops are terrific! The second time I prepared them, I seasoned the pork chops with garlic powder, salt, and pepper. I also cooked the chops at a lower temperature (medium high) to prevent burning. Finally, I served them with a sweet and slightly spicy sauce found here on allrecipes (1/2 cup orange marmalade, 1/4 cup Dijon mustard, 1/4 cup honey, and 1/4 teaspoon hot sauce). If you're using a thick cut pork chop, I suggest pounding it to make it thinner or placing the thick pork chops in the oven to finish cooking after browning. All in all, this recipe is a keeper. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCutie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
Made twice and find the breading is much soggier than I would like. Also, easy to burn. Will continue to tweak as I really like this style pork chop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
I make this all the time. The panko definately adds much more crunch and texture than regular bread crumbs. Make sure that your pork is sliced thin otherwise the outside will be "really done" and the middle will be still pink. Nice idea, thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
my family and I loved this recipe. It kind of taste like salt and pepper porkchops. You definately need to use thin pork chops to get it perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vita Collaco

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Absolutely wonderful! A nice change from your typical "shake and bake" style pork. We served it with teryaki dipping sauce and steamed cauliflower, snap peas, and carrots. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brandon, Florida, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Very tasty recipe...marinating and tenderizing (pounding) before making it helps. Also, the CUT of meat you use is KEY. If it is dry, you prob used cheap meat. In Japan we have HIRE (white meat) and ROSU (dark meat) - even good quality white meat will be super juicy. Of course this dish does not stand alone - you NEED sauce! The Japanese do not eat this without sauce...it would be the unthinkable. Please try authentic Tonkatsu sauce, or...if in a pinch, some A1 steak sauce. Don't try it w/out some dressing, otherwise it is pointless to make it. :( Served with thinly sliced lettuce salad, mini tomatoes for presentation...great. Lettuce reduces...er compliments the greasiness of the fried meat. Also, if you have non-meat lovers, the same technique can be used for SHRIMP. Very tasty...but be sure to cut the tail to prevent juices from flying, and make incisions along the body to make the shrimp stand straight after frying. Fat-concerned folks: please fry panko in oil...then do like 'shake and bake' - then...bake...similar results...not AS tasty but definitely easier on the waist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States