Tonkatsu - Asian-Style Pork Chop Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
LOVE IT!! We make this all the time. Everytime we go to a Japanese restaurant one or both of us would always order tonkatsu and pay at least 12 bucks or more for it. This taste just like the ones we had at the restaurants and cost hardly anything! We use Ashley's Chicken Katsu with Tonkatsu Sauce recipe for the tonkatsu sauce. This is one of my husbands most requested dinners now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Oh YUM! To be honest- this is my first experience frying something for real- in a frying pan. It was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly. The secret may be in the thinness of the pork chops. Also- we put some tonkatsu sauce on them once served. But some we just put a little lemon juice on- both were delicious! Served over a bed of rice with a side of fresh steamed broccoli. I will make this recipe OFTEN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCoorishii

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I thought these tasted great!! But, the egg mixture and the panko crumbs were only enough for 4 of my pork chops. Maybe I did something wrong, but it came out fine and that's all that matters! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Pretty close to the real deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASERGEANTSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I've been looking for a good katsu recipe, and came across this one last year which I have now made close to a dozen times. This is so good, that I haven't had to modify it too much. Suggestions to try though: Add a splash of sesame oil to your deep frying oil for a blast of asian flavor. Make sure the meat is thin, less then a 1/4" thick is good. If thick meat, lower the temp of the oil to prevent the breading from scorching before the meat is cooked thru. Season your meat before coating and breading. Use powdered garlic and ginger instead of fresh minced since they are easier to incorporate into the egg or into the panko. Use fresh crushed Tien Tsin Chili pepper (little red asian pepper) added to panko for added heat (caution: a little adds a lot of heat). Tonkatsu sauce (or any sauce) is critical for this...I use store bought Bull-Dog Vegetable & Fruit Tonkatsu Sauce (can order online if not at your local asian market) instead of making my own which I can't get to taste as good as this.Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This is a good recipe. The garlic makes it a little more interesting than plain panko breading, but you're still going to need sauce. If you like bold, spicy katsu like I do, I suggest the Tonkatsu/Katsu Sauce by SOIFUA on this site. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
These were very good. The breading was absolutely perfect and they were nice and crispy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennkl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This was excellent. I made the recipe as stated and it turned out deliciously! I dipped pieces of pork chop into Mae Ploy Sweet Chilli Sauce and was in heaven. This is seriously good food. It's fairly simple and straight-forward, too. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Very good, here is the recipe for the sauce that I used: 1/2 c ketchup 1/4 c worcestershire sauce 1 Tbsp grated ginger 1 Tbsp garlic powder 4 Tbsp mirin 2 Tbsp soy sauce pinch of chili powder I didn't add any sugar, but maybe that's what it was missing... hope this helps =0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I added an extra 1/2 tsp garlic to the egg mixture and used cayenne pepper instead of black. I first dipped the chops in plain flour, then the egg mixture and just one dip into the panko crumbs. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Palm City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States