Tonkatsu - Asian-style Pork Chop Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Tasted good, but I could not achieve the golden brown texture that the image shows, though, the problem could be my cookware. I also would recommend cooking less than 5-minutes on each side and flip to check the color regularly. As others have mentioned, a sauce enhances this dish. I served with Sriracha and a sweet vinegar cucumber salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I love it. Very simple, I did add a bit more Garlic than called for, and of course, took my aggression out on my chops with my meat tenderizer and then viola! Fried em over medium high heat and served them with traditional Katsu sauce, Jasmine rice, and steamed Broccoli :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tattooedhousewife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beavercreek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kewaunee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: San Clemente, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Only way to cook boneless Pork Chops now! Crisp and flavorful not at all greasy or dried out. Leftovers served on crispy Garlic Toast with Lettuce & Tomatoes next day. Fantastic! HATED the TONKATSU Sauce recommended. Unedible for our taste. But upon further research I have discovered totally different versions of this sauce, (that verify that the recipe I used & suspected would be odd,) & I look forward to trying them instead next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This was great. I will make it again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This was okay. I seasoned the pork chops with salt, pepper and a little garlic powder. I dredged them once, let them sit in the fridge for about 30 minutes, then dredged again and let sit another 30 minutes or so. The panko really sticks to the chops that way! I required one more egg to be able to finish all the chops. I served this with katsu sauce, which really made the dish. These were good, just not really the WOW dish I was expecting to serve. I will probably make them again, but tweak it to suit my tastes a bit more. Maybe marinate in some soy sauce or something. It just needs something more to give it the boost from a good meal to a fantastic one! Thanks for sharing the recipe- I love the concept :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
It was really good, but it didn't make enough topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
The only reason I am giving this 4 rather than 5 stars is because I used a couple of the tweaks from other reviews. I dredged the pork chops in gluten free all purpose flour first. Instead of panko I used cornflake crumbs in order to keep the recipe gluten free and I added seasoning to each step of the dredging. This was fabulous. My family raved and pork chops are generally a hit or miss in my house. They came out super juicy and flavorful. Will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I love this recipe, it was perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States